Dream Catching

Imagine FULL CROP
Good afternoon! It’s so good to be back here blogging in the gnome hole, after another trip back to Kansas for some hard outdoor labor. 🙂 Today I’m thrilled to share a layout I made for Scrapki-Wyzwaniowo’s September challenge…which is simply one word….IMAGINE. 🙂 The prizes for the winners of the challenge are phenomenal. New and present 7 Dots Studio collections, sent to your door. I can’t imagine why you wouldn’t want to play!
But on to my layout.
Imagine cluster
For a long while, I was not fair to dream catchers. I liked the lovely thought of the native American tribe that created them, and their idea. I wasn’t too into making them, because I wasn’t all that crafty when dream catchers were big in the 90’s. But recently they’ve made a resurgence, and I have begun to love them for all they represent. For this page, I created the dream catcher using cheesecloth for the “frame,” doodled circles for the center, and twine and chipboard for the strings and embellishments. It’s funny that when my family first saw this, they didn’t even notice the photo of Ivy tucked inside the center of the dream catcher. haha.
Imagine dreamcatcher top
largechip feather, imagine
The gorgeous UmWowStudio chipboard feather was painted with acrylics to give it the rainbow of colors. I wanted it to look like the dream catcher was being blown by the wind, so I had the twine move across the page, tossing the feathers where they would be moving in my mind’s eye. The little feather is part of the feather trio, and it was also painted in acrylics. Both were wrapped in May Arts natural twine.

leaf, bottom imagine
I used this leaf from the 7 Dots Studio chipboard to add another floating bit.
metal sentiment, imagine
I sprinkled lots of UmWowStudio confetti throughout the project, as well as vintage watch parts and gears, hand wrote the “imagine” tag (and watercolored it), and finally added a metal sentiment from Tim Holtz to finish it out. Watercolor was also a big element to this project….it’s just so dreamy. You can never go wrong with watercolor. 🙂 The 7 Dots Studio “Dreamer” paper made the perfect background.
I’m so happy with how this came out, and hope maybe my readers will give a dream catcher a try? It was a freeing and very fun experience.
Thanks so much for having a look, and I’ll be back soon with a new tutorial video and project for 13 Arts!
Loves~
Amy

2 Comments on “Dream Catching”

  1. jmimagemgmt says:

    Absolutely beautiful! Love it!

  2. Fiona Paltridge says:

    WOW! this is so fantastic! What a great design. So inspirational xx thank you


Leave a Reply

