Vintage Style Britophile Canvas

Britophile canvas, VLVS!
I’m happy to share a canvas I made for my daughter, who is a serious Britophile. She loves ALLL things UK. I wanted to make something that encompassed all things she loves about Brit style, and so I started with a 12×12 canvas board, and strips of vintage style papers. I arranged the torn strips in a loose interpretation of the union jack, and adhered with Mod Podge. To distress the background, I added several mists in light browns, and rolled over them with a brayer to blend. I used the cracked background stamp to add more “distressing,” and to go with the tea theme, I stamped with the coffee ring stain stamp. To give the stamp a more muted look, I went over it using the blunt end of a paintbrush, and actual coffee in small amount.

tearing, brito

stamping close, brito

I took a thrift store teacup, and broke it (that was a funny happening, oh boy), adding half to the canvas with E6000. I misted over the cup with brown mist, to give it a vintage look, and then stamped the London telephone booth with Memento ink in tuxedo black. I sprayed over it with fixative once dry, to keep it safe for misting and watercolor. I misted/brayered, and then painted using red watercolor. I like the faded appearance it gives. I also stamped the Big Ben using Delicata Ink, by Imagine Crafts in gold, and fussy cut it out. I added them “inside the teacup, along with a teabag, and embellished. Because I thought the canvas needed a little extra movement, I finished by stamping with the color wheel lines.
floral flourish, brito
Thanks so much for having a look today, my lovies. And THANK YOU for your kind and encouraging comments. If you leave me a comment, I am genuinely over the moon, and I love you for it. I can’t thank you enough for your time. ❤
Loves,
Amy

2 Comments on “Vintage Style Britophile Canvas”

  1. I am absolutely in love with this! I, too, am a Britophile so my London-half really got giddy about all the British components and my artistic half got equally giddy about how many cool techniques you used. I really like how you colored the phone booth in such a subtle way and how the whole thing has a great watery vibe. I lived in London for a year and a half and this totally made me think of the many papers that got drenched in rainstorms and all of the ring stains left around by tea cups. You nailed every detail and I have to say BRILLIANT on this piece!

  2. Gorgeous! I love the broken teacup added to the canvas. What a clever idea. And the background is gorgeous. It is making me think of canvases in a whole new way. Thank you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

