Abandoned to Nature

Believe full, ALLassiter SOD
I’m back to share another layout created for Scraps of Darkness! The “Believe” kit is just so perfect for this colorful summer: savoring the bright sun, blue skies, colorful flowers, swimming pools, and graceful butterflies. I was inspired to use a photo I had taken of a rural abandoned house, that has always been such a haunting presence for me. There were purple thistles and long grasses in the yard, and as the sun set, it was a perfect setting to photograph. I decided to create my piece around the Scraps of Darkness mood board once again, while pulling colors from the photo as well. I am not used to creating around a photo of something other than a person….so this was a challenge for me.
believe bottom cluster flower

The butterflies in the BoBunny Enchanted Garden papers, printed on what look like old book pages, were perfect for layering up. The dragonflies from Renea Bouquets are just divine, and add a delicate and unique bit of color and life to the page. I also misted some of the Blue Fern chipboard, as well as a piece of UmWowStudio chip, to give a pop of contrasting color.

Believe nature, rubon bg

The background is many layers of paint, with quite a bit of not so obvious stenciling. 🙂 I used the Tim Holtz rub ons to give some vintage touches to areas around the 12×12 piece.

top believe photo

All in all, I am very pleased with this page. I think it is free and easy looking, with an art journal page type feel. 🙂

Have a fabulous day, and I’ll be back again soon, blogging from the gnome hole. 😉
~A

One Comment on “Abandoned to Nature”

  1. phaerygurl says:

    I love the colors and butterflies and dragonflies rock my world! 🙂 Awesome work.


Leave a Reply

