Floral Steampunk Journal Cover

cover full, uws, allassiter
When I arrived at my new home, an apartment in West Des Moines, one of the first things I selfishly unpacked….were my art supplies. I set up (the day after our move in) in our dining room, by the window. I’m so excited to have natural light, for filming videos in the near future. 🙂 I also purchased a dream item for my area, the Ikea Raskog cart…and it very beautifully organizes my paints, inks, stencils, and smaller items. The first thing I made after setting up? This journal/mini book cover.
scissors close corner

I started with a set of 7 Gypsies book covers that I bought a few years ago. They already had a nice “distressed old book” look, so I added a few swirls of paint, and smoothed them out with a brayer. Some splashes of mist, and a bit of stamping (if you look carefully, you’ll see all sorts of background stamping), and the background seemed ready for embellishing.
closer edge
I have been working on using up some older supplies, so I dug out some papers and a transparency from a Jenni Bowlin Hodge Podge book, and tore them into strips (well, I had to cut the transparency). I layered them up with some delicious stamp stickers from 13 Arts, and a fussy cut swallow.
mini album cover, UWS, ALLassiter

Some altered Prima flowers, vintage fibers, copper wire, May Arts twine, and a handmade face ( created with Creative Paperclay and a mold), a gorgeous UmWowStudio chipboard flourish, some beautiful gears (gears just set my heart pumping, hehe, and a few of these are vintage)….and it was complete.

I plan to create this book using pictures of our moving journey.  I can’t  wait to share more pages very soon. 🙂

Gnome kisses,

A

Leave a Reply

