Blog Hop with Viva Las VegaStamps and IMAGINE Crafts

Mixed Media Blog Hop

Welcome to the IMAGINE Crafts and Viva Las VegaStamps! Blog Hop.  For the next week, our two design teams will be featuring some amazing projects featuring products from both our companies.   Amazing stamps require amazing ink, right? Make sure to see how you can win a FAB prize package below!!
IC/VLVS by the Sea, ALLassiter

Today, I’m sharing a project I made with these awesome inks, and of course you know I’m a devoted Viva Las VegaStamps! junkie!
IC VLVS Close corner, Sea
I began my project with the front cover of a 6×6 children’s book and flipped it to the inside, where it was already covered by paper and canvas along the edge. I distressed the edges a bit, and then stamped all over the white paper with the Waybill/Invoice using the gorgeous metallic copper ink.
IC VLVS cheescloth sea close
For the “sea” I used blue inks to make a gradual background, and then created the colored cheesecloth, by spraying it with Fireworks in Bamboo, wetting a cosmetic sponge, and picking up the blue inks….and blending. When that had dried, I pulled it apart, and adhered to the page. I also interspersed some blue yarn that I spread very thin, to add texture. The remaining wet ink in my sponge, I wrung onto my craft mat, and used a paintbrush to add drops of color.
IC/VLVS sea bottom
For the vintage photo cluster, the paper beneath has been edged in walnut ink applied with a brush, to distress the paper. I have stamped and fussy cut my images, and also inked up my UmWowStudio chipboard pieces. The words cut from a childrens book to make my phrase, are distressed with diluted walnut ink.

I really love the nautical look of this mini canvas, and the vintage photo of the little boy makes me smile every time. It was really awesome combining amazing inks, with amazing stamps!!!
Supply List:

Viva Las VegaStamps!:
WayBill/Invoice
Star Pin
Dungeness Crab
Anchor 1 1/2×2
Coffee Ring Stain

Inks:

Brilliance: Peacock
Encore Ultimate Metallic: Copper
Fireworks: Bamboo
Radiant Neon: Electric Blue
Versa Color: Rose Red
Staz On: Teal Blue
Brillance: Mediterranean Blue
Walnut Ink: walnut

Mixed Media Prize Package

We’re proud to announce your chance to win one of three different Mixed Media Prize Packages from IMAGINE Crafts and Viva Las VegaStamps!  You have until midnight PST on Sunday, May 31st 2014  to comment on as many of the Design Team Blog Posts from this week as possible. On Monday, June 1st  we’ll draw three random blog posts and one comment from each of those posts will win a prize package!

Ready for some inspiration from our artists?

Here’s today’s post from IMAGINE Crafts:

Savannah O’Gwynn

And from Viva Las VegaStamps!:

Amy Lassiter

 

If you’re just joining us on the Mixed Media Blog Hop, here’ the links to the previous days posts: Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday

 

***Blog Hop Hint – if you click on a link that takes you to a page saying something like, “Sorry this page cannot be found” just click on the header at the top of the blog (usually a picture or the blog’s name) and it will take you to that blog’s most recent post. That post *should* be our hop. If not, you can probably scroll down a short way to find the hop post.

24 Comments on “Blog Hop with Viva Las VegaStamps and IMAGINE Crafts”

  1. Mic says:

    Gorgeous color! I love what you did with the fabric!

  2. Blue Rose says:

    Amy,
    What an amazing work of art! I love how you used so many textures, and mediums. It is simply wonderful.

  3. Dawn says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous! I love all the textures and colors!

  4. Sheri says:

    Very cool. Love all the texture you have going on.

  5. Sue K86401 says:

    Wonderful project, love all of the techniques, colors and elements. Everything works so perfectly together. Beautiful work of art, you are very talanted.

    Sue
    http://suek86401.blogspot.com/

  6. WOW! This is absolutely amazing! I love the many textures and layering! TFS!

  7. IrinaR says:

    Amazing project! the perfect combination of vintage style and freestyle, in my opinion!

  8. gilda (McStamper) says:

    What an amazing work of art. Just beautiful.

  9. bearsmother says:

    there are so many different layers on this picture. the netting, the anchors, the painting. It takes awhile to take it all in. Great project. Something to display for everyone to admire.

  10. Christa says:

    Fabulous…love all the texture, especially the sea. So much details…I love it

  11. Love the combination of copper and teal and the whole theme of travel! Lovely!

  12. Annie says:

    Terrific tips for adding details. Your artwork on this piece is adorable!

  13. jpscraps says:

    Amazing artwork! The blues and greens for the water are genius.

  14. Robin Buchholz says:

    The layering and colors in your project are amazing! Thanks for the inspiration.

  15. Cynthia Clark says:

    Beautiful work. Love the cheesecloth sea.

  16. Linda Tupper says:

    What an amazing piece of artwork. I just adore this. What beautiful work you have done. I specifically love the cheesecloth. Beautiful background, colors and elements! Beautiful

  17. PiHi says:

    Beautiful. I love that boy image!

  18. TracyM #6773 says:

    OH MY – this is AMAZING Amy!!!

    LOVE the colors!!!
    LOVE the images & elements!!!
    LOVE the textures!!!
    LOVE the layers!!!
    REALLY LOVE the cheesecloth waves – WOW – the PERFECT finishing touch 🙂

    THANK YOU for sharing your CREATIVE INSPIRATION!!!

  19. Katie B. says:

    Wow, this is beautiful! Makes me finally want to say, maybe I do need to get some cheesecloth after all! Love the layers of color and dimension you created. Wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

    Katie B.

  20. Vinita says:

    Such brilliant use of the blues and the greens using cheesecloth !!! I love this sea inspired project. Great work!!!

  21. Jean Bullock says:

    This is fabulous. You have added so many wonderful elements. I must tell you that I usually am not wild about fibers being added to canvases and paper crafted works, but I LOVE what you did. I have very happy eyes right now.

  22. Lyneen says:

    WOW… I love all the textures on your project this is amazing… there are so many wonderful ideas, techniques I don’t know what to comment on…. I LOVE YOUR CANVAS!!! Love the use of cheesecloth… AWESOME COLORS!!! GREAT POST!!!! TFS

  23. What a beautiful layout, Amy!! Amazing dimension and design!


Leave a Reply

