A Colorful Beginning

dsc_0624
It’s the first of the month and the year! Happy New year! Today, the Gauche Alchemy newsletter came out, and this art journal was among the projects that were shared. 🙂
dsc_0637
I plan to make art journaling a frequent thing in the coming year (a resolution I intend to keep), and I wanted to make it as easy as possible. I chose a children’s book, 8×10 in size, and gessoed the outside covers, then added 7 Dots Studio “9th Wave” papers, some Gauche Alchemy and Tim Holtz washi tape, and doodling stenciling using Gauche Alchemy Punchinella and a UmWowStudio mask. Generous paint flicking occurred as well, heehee.
dsc_0634

I LOVE the vintage photo of the Victorian women, it seems so intimate….like they are sisters, or close friends. I wanted them to be the focus of the cover.
I embellished with an old paintbrush I painted to fit my color scheme, and some Prima flowers I doused in paint and stain. The keyhole is from Graphic 45, painted iridescent green, and embellished with UmWowStudio star confetti pieces.
dsc_0627
I can’t wait to get started on the pages inside. I will hopefully share one very soon!
Happy New Year, and here’s to a fabulous 2014!!!!!
~A

One Comment on “A Colorful Beginning”

  1. Michele says:

    I just ADORE your style Amy!!


Leave a Reply

