Art and Soul {and some happy news}

banner colorful, art and, ALL

So, I found a technique I really love. It came to me one night, as I couldn’t sleep. I was topped over with creativity (have you ever had one of those times?) Suddenly, I thought of a simple way to add big, bold lines of pattern with paint over the top.  And this layout, based on a REALLY amazing festival we attended last year, was born.

Art and Soul, Full, ALL

I had a great time playing with the “Carnival Queen” collection by Ruby Rock-It. The colors are something that I can easily use with photos of my girls….bright pops of pink, green, yellow, and blue. When I paired it with metallic green paint (folk art acrylic)…it came out just right. The lines? Well, I just painted over artfully arranged and well adhered artists tape, using a brayer, and a full layer of paint. After waiting for it to dry? Voila! 🙂 Bright pink bursts of color and pattern!
striped technique, art ands, ALL
More flicks and drizzles of paint, stenciling (using Gauche Alchemy Punchinella) and stamping completed the background, and then I used the lovely embellishments in the collection, my favorites being the little flag banners in different colors, shapes, and patterns.
flower, chip, Art and, ALL
The fabric strips, ticket, and layers of paper are all from the Carnival Queen collection, as well.
flower and flags, art and soul, ALL

tickets, art and, ALL
This layout was such a fun way to celebrate an event we’ll have lifelong memories of….in a festival of color, paper, and paint. What could be better!

In other news, I’m SO excited to announce I have joined the design teams of :

um wow

GJS blinkie

I can’t wait to see what is in store creatively, with these two wonderful companies.

Happy Monday, Gnomies!

2 Comments on “Art and Soul {and some happy news}”

  1. Julie Bonomo says:

    Congratulations! love this layout and all the layers. BTW, where did you find the heart stamp? Love it and how you used color to make it pop. Thank you.

  2. susansoul says:

    Yay! We are sooo excited to have you on the GJS team!


Leave a Reply

