When Pigs Fly……{Viva Las VegaStamps! and Scor-Pal}

pig, pigs fly, ALL

So, how many people do a scrapbook layout (not in the Cricut paper piecing/cute style) with a pig as a main theme? Um, me. And I chose to put my own picture on there too. Wings, pigs, me, mixed media, Graphic 45, feathers………..ah, a recipe for weird.
The design team of Viva Las VegaStamps! was gifted with a Scor-Pal to try, and we got to work seeing what we could do with it. At first, I was sorta stumped. Once I started playing with it though? I had some fun ideas pop into my head. Like creating tye-dye/batik style lines by spraying mist into the grooves, and scoring. It looked cool….I’ll do something with that later.  The technique I chose was a bit simpler, but packs a big punch with a graphic look.
When Pigs Fly, Full, ALL
I began with a lovely 12×12 paper from 7 Dots, and began scoring nearly every line on the scor board, on the OPPOSITE side I planned to use.  Then, I flipped the paper, and scored again, to create a grid. I didn’t  score all the way across, to give a different look. Then, I took inks in brown, white, and black, and gently rubbed over the top of the embossed lines, using a sponge. I also went over them gently with a brayer and diluted black reinker. This helped the lines to stand out, and then I stamped over the top using the cracked background, and grunge writing background stamps, as well as stenciling, and lots of paint and ink.
scoring, pigs fly, ALL
This layout was SO much fun, just creating the background, and THEN I added the goodies. 🙂
Corner, circle and star, Pigs Fly, ALL
Like this little spot, with UmWowStudio chipboard, flowers, and metal doo dads.
butterfly wing, ALL, Pigs Fly
And this stamped butterfly wing .
scoring, chip, pig, pigs fly, ALL
Or this fun little flying pig, and that glittery chip.
Title, Pigs, ALL, background

And mostly this pig. This pig rocks my socks off. He’s just so happy. I thought having him peer through the slide frame….was really fun.
pig and frame, Pigs fly, ALL

You know what I know about pigs flying? It’s something I would love to see, but probably won’t, other than in my crazy imagination!

Thanks so much for having a look today, to see my quirky project using the Scor-Pal and Viva Las VegaStamps! If you haven’t been by the Viva Las VegaStamps! blog yet, you better click that link ASAP! And, we will have inspo from different designers every day this week!

 

6 Comments on “When Pigs Fly……{Viva Las VegaStamps! and Scor-Pal}”

  1. Bette says:

    Wow, so much wonderful detail! Your piggies make me laugh!

  2. Phyllis Hollinger says:

    Really cute, Amy. I like your quirky imagination!

  3. Christi Conley says:

    I love VLVS Pig Stamps – and I love your background idea – thanks!!!

  4. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing your scoring technique. I would never have thought of that!

  5. Darlene Propp says:

    LOVE the pig stamps!


Leave a Reply

