Innocence

Innocence, FULL, alassiter

So, last June my mother-in-law passed away. It was a traumatic event for my girls, as they were with her when it happened. I won’t go into detail, but, I feel like they both, but mostly my then 12 year old had to suddenly grow up, and her innocence about life and what it holds at the beginning and end was gone. I had taken this photo not too long before my mother-in-law’s death…….when they were still innocent of such things.

coin and flower, chip, innocence, alassiter

My girls fight like siblings, but love like them too. I’m proud of how they love and support one another. This photo shows how they love……so deep and sweet. So, I made sure that this layout reflected that. Bright, sweet, colorful.

paper cluster, innocence, Alassiter

flower grouping, Innocence, alassiter

It was early fall in this photo, and the flowers were still in bloom. It was a beautiful, 70 degree day.  There was not one worry in our mind that there would be someone we loved missing soon. If we would have known, would we have done things differently?  Would I have done something differently, prepared them? Enjoyed that innocence and happiness a little longer?

stencil script, innocence, ALassiter

Now, my girls are in therapy. They are learning to deal with this loss. I create to give myself time for me; because they need so much emotional support and time from me.  It is true, as this stencil from ScrapFX says: The secret of happiness is freedom, the secret of freedom is courage.  We’re learning to be more happy, courageous, and free.  I just wish I could give them back their innocence.

~ Blessings, A

One Comment on “Innocence”

  1. Chipper says:

    A difficult topic to scrap. I am glad that you added beautiful colour to your layout and the quote. I hope that you are all doing ok.


Leave a Reply

