Epic Adventure Awaits

angle, epic makaha layout
So, I’m back with blue. Water, sand, and the love of Hawaii. But I think you should have a look, I promise not to bore you.
Epic Adventure Awaits, Makaha, Alassiter

If you are interested in seeing how I do my mixed media backgrounds, have a look at the Helmar blog today.  I’m sure you would be shocked to find that I use lots and lots of layers.
background and thread, Makaha

bottom corner, makaha

I got a chance to throw down some inked up Viva Las VegaStamps! goodies on this layout…I had a big box of beautiful stamps and other related yums inside arrive on my doorstep this week. I was so excited to try the cool images on the plates I had ordered. 🙂

top corner, makaha layout

So, the picture on this layout is sorta goofy. My chubby feet in the sand. Really, though, there’s nothing better to me, and I needed to capture that on a piece of art. This photo was taken on a beach at 6:30 in the morning. We had headed out early, hoping to see some dolphins and swim with them. We discovered Mākua Beach was not as protected as the bay where our condo sat. Mākua had pounding surf, and lots of very shallow lava rock, so we didn’t enter the water anyway. My dad said, as we saw several crosses on the rocks “Um, I don’t think that’s a good sign…….” but really, it was a memorial of sorts, for those who had their ashes scattered there, not a spot where people died in the crushing surf. That morning was very serene. We didn’t do much talking, we just stood in awe of the beautiful sunrise, the powerful water, and the towering mountains. It was almost like the minutes after the end of a funeral, where everyone departs in silence. Simply stunned, changed. We were changed for sure.

I discovered later that singer Iz, Israel Kamakawiwo’ole, had his ashes scattered there. It’s featured in this video.

Have great Tuesday, friends. 🙂

5 Comments on “Epic Adventure Awaits”

  1. Karen k says:

    Absolutely Gorgeous Amy!! Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Chipper says:

    This one is definitely YOU! I love the way the swirls seem to reach up towards the top embellishment. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all just sit and soak up the beauty on a beach in Hawaii right now?

  3. Chipper says:

    Oh! And Happy 4th of July! I hope you have a wonderful day with family and laughter!

  4. Julie B says:

    Absolutely stunning layout! Was the text a stamp or part of the paper? What colors did you use (gelatos, paint and mist)? Love all the colors, movement and story it told….thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

