A Beautiful Mind {A ScrapFX Blog Hop}

Hello, and welcome to Sparkling Gnome Studios! If you’ve never visited before, and you’re here for the ScrapFX blog hop, have a seat in my Hobbit hole of a blog, and enjoy yourself today. I’m excited to share my project with you! Along with my photos, you’ll see my answers to the questions that we on the ScrapFX design team came up with for each other to answer. This is super fun, and helps you get to know us!
May-Blog-Hop-Logo
Beautiful Mind, Full

I created this “out of my comfort zone” layout using the ScrapFX Graphic Circles ,Graphic Frame and Graphic Corner. I love how it has a hip, intelligent look, but it is also a bit “Game of Thrones” intro. For your entertainment, here’s what I’m talking about:

I’m not much of a graphic scrapper, but these were fantastic to adapt to my style, and look fantastic paired with the 7 Dots and 7 Gypsies patterned papers, for a grungy or steampunk touch.
circlecorner, BMind

Now for some questions!

Michelle Logan: What is your scrapbook “kryptonite”? (what style/colour/etc will people never see on your creations because you cannot deal with it???):
For a long time it was chevron, but I got past that; I pretty much will never use lots of yellow, no matter how trendy it is.

Michelle Hernandez: What do you listen to or watch while your scrap and WHY?:Β Depending on my mood, I either listen to Pandora stations I created (trance, classical, rock, etc)..or watch a movie/TV series. I’m currently re-watching Six Feet Under.Β  With music, it helps set my mood, tv/movie helps when I need a bit of a break here and there, because my creativity isn’t flowing right. πŸ™‚
Bmind, corner
Klere: Do you snack or drink while scrapping? What?:
I do eat/drink. Usually coffee, Diet Coke, tea, or *ahem* an alcoholic libation; foods are non-greasy snacks, usually chocolate. πŸ™‚
bottom corner, bmind
Adrienne: How do you jump start your creativity when you find that it is missing?Β 
I usually look through my favorite print publications, and books of sketches; or I go thrifting…the quirkiness of junking gets my creativity moving.
Scarlett: What is your favorite technique(s) to use right now and why? What are some tried and true techniques you love to use?
Well, I love to use paint, my favorite technique right now, is dots of paint and a brayer; and stamping with my ScrapFX chippies. Layering would be the other. πŸ™‚
circles, bmind
Amy: At what time of day are you most creative, or do you prefer to create?:
I always thought I was a “night owl,” but I was lying to myself, because I thought that was cool. I am really at my most creative in the morning, early morning scrapping is the best for me!
Top corner, BMind
Cindy: What makes your heart race?
Well, in a good way? My husband’s eyes when he’s had a beer or two. πŸ˜‰Β  In a bad way? Spiders for certain, and sometimes the phone. I really dislike/have developed an anxiety about talking on the phone. Weird, I know.

Elisabeth: If you were to describe one emotion while scrapbooking, what would it be?
Joy and Freedom (I guess that’s two, ha!)
Misty: What are you afraid of?
Failure, and not being able to accomplish all I dream of in this one lifetime.

Maria: If you could choose a talent/gift what would it be?
Innate confidence.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. Keep hopping to see the fantastic projects my teamies at ScrapFX have to offer…AND to win a fantabulous prize (follow the path from the ScrapFX blog to see…it’s so awesome)!

Adrienne
Amy Lynne
Anita
Cindy
Claire
Elisabeth
Maria
Michelle H
Misty
Rachelle
Renata
Scarlett
29 Comments on “A Beautiful Mind {A ScrapFX Blog Hop}”

  1. Liz says:

    Amy gorgeous work and love the paint drips and the frame πŸ™‚ Love Liz
    http://myworldofscrap-hippychic.blogspot.com.au/

  2. debisjoy says:

    What a magnificent blog you have, so arty & gorgeous! I love that page using those fine chippies & terific photo – how wonderful it is.
    I understand your ‘fear’, as I am an older person I have so much to do yet!!
    Lovely to be able to have a peek here.

  3. Michelle Logan says:

    Just gorgeous work Amy…. you rocked the graphic theme of the latest chippies!!! I too am a person who struggles with confidence but am working on that!!!

  4. I love Game of Thrones so get just what you mean, I love that you have left the chippies raw, something that I have not tried yet….love it

  5. Buffy Esser says:

    Oh what a beautiful page…these chip board pieces are fabulous!

  6. mizzkb00 says:

    interesting that you would say this was out of your comfort zone…love all the “clockwork”/grunginess of it -am not familiar with Games of Thrones but I like it!

  7. jsquared says:

    Loving those semi-mathematical chipboard shapes. You did a great job with them. I’m not sure why I never watched Game of Thrones – I usually like that kind of thing and Sean Bean!

  8. Chipper says:

    Cool chippy bits on that page!

  9. Karen says:

    Loving this blog hop, love your layout thanks for sharing your scraping world with us

  10. Oh great way to work with the Graphic chippis! And with pink! So amazing!

  11. cottagerca says:

    amy, your creative details on this layout can be seen …. nice showcasing of the chip’s, i will have to get some of these circles

  12. Cindy Keogh says:

    Beautiful page – I love the chippies!

  13. jΓ² says:

    thanks for the inspiration, ciao dall’Italia

  14. Liz Waters says:

    Love your work. I will follow you for inspiration on bloglovin. Liz
    http://scrappingmadness.blogspot.com/

  15. Sarah Lynch says:

    Great layout, I love all the geometry going on and how you photograph to show off the texture. I love your idea of stamping with the chipboard, I would never have thought of that!

  16. Pam Ellis says:

    I love love love how you took that scheme from THrones and worked into your layout! Love the show (ddry though lately and I read all the books so I’m waiting for the good stuff to come). Your layout is amazing well done! πŸ™‚

  17. Wow I LOVE how you used those October Afternoon alphas- so unexpected!!! Fantastic page!! AWESOME inspiration point too!! I don’t have cable so I regret not being able to watch Games of Thrones live- I keep hoping they will add the first couple of seasons to Netflix but so far no go. Interesting point on the fear of phones- funny how it’s turned into an instrument for bad news right? When I was a teenager you couldn’t get me off of it- now I only get calls from telemarketers, bill collectors looking for fill you name here hernandez (never me- annoying and comforting at the same time) or someone saying something awful has happened- MIchelle has the same answer to this question so now I have something to think about. THANKS GIRLIE!!!

  18. Adrienne Ford says:

    Most beautiful Creations Amy! I adore that creation= love you choice of papers and how you used the large chippie to center that beautiful photo!

  19. Romy says:

    Absolutely fabulous lay-out! You used these chippies to perfection!

  20. Beautifully intricate and detailed work! I love the abstract quality in this piece…and that everwhere you look, presents a new dimension! Gorgeous work!!!

  21. Scarlett says:

    You do have a beautiful mind Amy and it matches this beautiful page!! It sure is hard to tell this was out of your comfort zone – you worked with it all spectacularly. I really enjoyed reading more about you, but then again you share so much through your blog already and I just love that about you! I would so love to go junking with you someday!! I can only imagine what fun that would be and what treasures we could find and what memories would be made. What a great way to jumpstart creativity. We don’t really have a great spot for that around me, the one place I’ve found isn’t all that inspirational – at least not yet. I’ve yet to really get out and explore more though so perhaps this summer I need to do so. πŸ˜‰ xo

  22. Alex says:

    I could never tell that this was out of your comfort zone! It’s amazing!

  23. Elisabeth says:

    This was a different layout from you, and I love it! Graphic suits you as well;)

  24. Asia King says:

    Beautiful ‘shabby Steampunk’ layout :). Love the background! And I hate spiders too…brrr! Thanks for sharing!

  25. luckie101 says:

    Oh! Amy! Your lo is amazing! I love all the circles everywhere that highlight your round picture πŸ™‚

  26. Love your back ground, so much to look at , a beautiful page
    Mary

  27. Ann kristin says:

    What a pretty layout! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  28. Umichka says:

    OMG!! It;s soooooo beautiful layout!! Can’t stop to look at it!!

  29. Kerri says:

    LOVE your work!!! Innate confidence is something I would love to have too πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

