Heavenly Mixed Media

banner

So, that work long in progress…..is done.  It is also a new favorite. It has everything I love on it…the colors, the grunge, the feathers. Yes, it took forever to create….but it also sort of took me in another direction that is very comfortable stylistically for me.
heavenly full layout

I started with a piece of Tim Holtz Kraft Resist paper again. I have discovered it is some of the only stuff that will hold up to my very wet, inky, stencily, painty abuse. (This time, I created my own color scheme *before* I started, without flying by the seat of my pants, as usual.) Really, in the end, I had done so much stuff to the page, that I needed to iron it….but with a light misting of water, it worked like a charm. The chevron stencil? Well……I promised myself that I would not bow to the chevron trend last year. Prom.ised. I very much resisted…..until I saw this grungy chevron stencil by Donna Downey for Prima. Le sigh…..it was perrfect! I paired it with my beloved Mix’d Media Inx in Indigo….and a wet sponge….for pure artsy happiness. 🙂
Chipboard heart, ScrapFX
Now for the ScrapFX gushing. I love. love. love these scribble hearts. Love them. Did I mention I love them? haha! I wanted some color to help them really pop off the page, with their sweet grunginess…..so I stacked up some papers from Glitz’s Uncharted Waters line (gosh, they are so pretty) all wonky behind the photo and hearts….and added some more paint.
washi, flower, fiber
After all of the main elements had been secured with my Helmar 450….I started to embellish….I love that part. I added Gauche Alchemy washi tape and trims, Pink Paislee trims, hand dyed seam binding (I did myself), flowers (I always never have enough flowers…..ever),  dew drops, Donna Downey’s small canvas script banners……and feathers. Oh my how I love my feathers these days. I just need to find more unique ones. 🙂 Last, but not least, I used Scrap FX’s Funky Alphabet, to create my Heavenly title. I added Piccolo/Globecraft Memories Enamel Gel in titanium white…(which is cool set. This was a bit of an issue for very impatient me, but it had a great result). I added some Fairy Dust glitter by Clearsnap, as it was drying…..and then stamped over the top.

flower,
If you get a chance, pop by the Gauche Alchemy blog today, where this project is up and ready for a gander. 🙂
Thanks so much for visiting today, and I send lots of gnomie hugs!
~A

 

5 Comments on “Heavenly Mixed Media”

  1. Michelle Logan says:

    Wow love those hearts and what you did with them! Just one great design!!!

  2. Chipper says:

    I would sooooooo do this one as a class! Mind you it would probably be a long one, or one done in parts 🙂 I promised myself that I wouldn’t get into hexagons … but I failed miserably :p

  3. What can I say other than amazing!!!

  4. Katie Nolan-Denham says:

    Everytime I come visit your blog I wind up wiping the drool off. You always have such gorgeous, original pieces that make me want to be a multi-media artist. This one is no exception. Such great use of color, texture and design. You ROCK!

  5. misty says:

    I came to check to see what you’ve been up to and noticed my comment on this page never took? I’m concerned that I’m missing a lot of comments using my phone. Anyway…This is flippin awesome! I love the colors and all of the mixed media yumminess! I think this may be a new fave for me too!


Leave a Reply

