A Paintbrush With Wings

Altered Paintbrush, Full, ALLassiter

I recently signed up to participate in a really fun swap between altered artists, and we are using paintbrushes. I had never made an altered paintbrush before, and I was worried I would disappoint with my “amateurness” so I decided to make this one as a trial run. I created this for my lovely artist friend to display in her store, and it’s definitely as sparkly and unique as she is.

bristles close, ALLassiter

As you will see in the quick slideshow video of my step out photos, showing how I created my paintbrush, I used plenty of Helmar and Clearsnap…including lots of Fairy Dust Glitter in Sugar Shimmer! Everything is better with glitter.

star closeup, ALLassiter

Most of the elements on the paintbrush, are adhered with Helmar Premium Craft Glue.

angel closeup, ALLassiter

I love to add plenty of details to each of my projects, and it is made easy with wonderful inks, and adhesives. Have a look at my process in a short video:

Thanks so much for joining me today, and visit the Helmar Blog or Clearsnap, for even more inspiration!

Blessings!

Supplies:

*Helmar:
Decoupage Paste
Premium Craft Glue
Adhesive Runner
450 Quick Dry
Zap Dots
*Clearsnap:
Mix’d Media Inx: Wisteria, Denim, Patina, Honey, Truffle
Colorbox Cat’s Eye: Seattle Sky
Fairy Dust Glitterf: Sugar Shimmer

*4″ Wooden Paintbrush, Hardware Store*Vintage Book Pages

*Sizzix Tim Holtz Alteration Bigz Die: Wings

*Sizzix Tim Holtz Alterations Embossing Folders: Wings

*Patterned Paper: Basic Grey

*Vintage Library Cards

*Maya Road Metal Star

*Dew Drops, The Robins Nest

*Zipper Pull: Prima

*Trims: Webster’s Pages

*Feathers, Michaels

*Craft Paper, Unknown

*Stamps: Stampin’ Up, Viva Las Vegas Stamps

*Sears Vintage Typewriter

*Seambinding:  Paper Issues, Handmade

3 Comments on “A Paintbrush With Wings”

  1. misty says:

    wow! This is probably my favorite paintbrush that I’ve seen so far! Very cool

  2. Chipper says:

    I had heard about these altered paint brushes. Yours is beautiful, I wouldn’t worry about ‘amateurish’ 😀

  3. I don’t think I can tell you too many times how much I love this altered paintbrush! It is simply fantastic!


Leave a Reply

