Funky Owl and Hand Stamped Necklace

choker, owl
Every year for the past several years, I have made each one of my girls a handmade gift (each alike) for Christmas. Really, it has been their favorite gift each year, and when I was sick before Christmas, it happened to be in the time I had carefully carved out for creating those gifts. So, I explained to the girls, who were so good about it, that I would make them gifts for their birthdays instead! Brynne’s birthday happened to be first, and she has asked me several times for a choker necklace…so I made one!

full necklace

My sweet girl’s neck is soooo skinny, so I made this so it will just tie in the back. I sewed a strip of crocheted trim onto a pretty black ribbon, and then sewed on charms.  The small silver disc charms, I made using these metal stamps. I had seen several hand stamped metal necklaces on Etsy, and being the frugal crafter I am, I thought…..heck, I can make those! So, I bought a basic uppercase set.

DSC_0303

I just sat on the basement floor of my studio (it’s vinyl tile), and pounded each disc with two letters of Brynne’s name….to spell out the whole thing….with a regular old hammer. It was really easy, and the stamp set will pay for itself several times over.

BR, letter disc, choker

I sewed on each disc by hand, and then added a button at the top. The thread is looped through several times, for security. Then, I sewed on a few cute little owl charms Haley and I picked out at Hobby Lobby.

owl charm, close, choker

That’s it! This was a super fun little project, and I think Brynne loved it!

Thanks for having a quick look at my “off the page” project. I’ve been lots of “practically crafty” lately, and I’m grateful for those skills for money saving decorations and such, like this banner…made from printed photos of quilted union jacks, for Brynne’s Downton Abbey themed party:

DSC_0306 banners, union jack
Have a lovely remainder of the week! Blessings! ~A

3 Comments on “Funky Owl and Hand Stamped Necklace”

  1. Chipper says:

    It is lovely to receive a hand crafted gift. Most of my crafting has also be decorating/gifts lately. Saves a pile of money and I really enjoy doing it 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    What a great idea and cute necklace! I’ll try to make one for My daugther, i’m shure she would love it!!

  3. Scarlett says:

    Oooo, I love this necklace!!! I have quite the skinny lil’ neck (insert terribly embarrassed face face here because I’m quite self conscious of it) and always have major struggles finding jewelry that will work for me – I’m so going to take this idea and run with it – add it to my ever growing list of ideas I wanna get at. LOL But surely this is one I must try my neck is in need I tell ya’ – giggling madly. 🙂 Thank you, thank you! I know your daughter adored this.


Leave a Reply

