Simple Stories and Helmar~ {Helping Me Create a Christmas Journal Cover with Class}

***NOTE**** sorry if you are seeing this post pop up 3-4 times! For some reason, my blog kept publishing this post, before it was supposed to go live! Now it is official I can add it…..so here ’tis.************

DD Cover FULL, Simple Stories, ALLassiter

This year, I have made quite a bit of progress on my Christmas Journal; following along with Shimelle’s prompts, and recording the activities of the day (however boring/mundane they may be). I knew that I wanted to create my own mini book this year, so I picked up some of Simple Stories’ Sn@p 3×4 pocket pages, cut front and back covers (using Prima embossed chipboard), and got busy prettifying them!
DDCover, Simple Stories, ALLassiter, CLOSE
I decided that the “Words to Live By” papers in the Simple Stories “Documented” collection, would be perfect for the cover of my Christmas Journal. Because the paper is so beautiful by itself (I could frame it),I cut it to cover about 3/4 of the page, and adhered the paper to the chipboard using Helmar Decoupage Paste. Once the main piece of paper was on the page, I decided to simply embellish around the outside two edges. I cut several of the sentiments out of the Bingo Card paper,distressed the edges, and created nice pointed, banner type ends, layering them up with other stickers and paper. The numbers on the bingo cards were perfect for representing the days of the month, so they are randomly placed on the page (and the 25th is circled in red!)
Tiny Tree, Simple Stories, Close up, ALLassiter
Of course, as ALL of my Christmasy things have been lately………this cover has glitter. Fairy Dust Glitter (by Donna Salazar…..gorgeous stuff), and copper Martha Stewart glitter. I’m pretty sure I’ll have glitter engrained in my skin and hair until April…but oh well…that’s the hazard of the trade, eh?

Thanks so much for stopping by today, and I hope to see you soon!
Blessings!~A

3 Comments on “Simple Stories and Helmar~ {Helping Me Create a Christmas Journal Cover with Class}”

  1. Ava G says:

    great project.
    ava g

  2. Scarlett says:

    I adore your cover!!! All the words and numbers really rock my world with the embellishments being kept sweet and simple yet wonderful! I so need to get crackin’ on actually working on my journal but feel really good that I’ve kept up with pictures and notes – much better than my grand thoughts in years past of how I was going to do it up big LOL. Just have an assignment to get finished today and then I think I can actually finish the cover and first pages I started, yay! Have a super day Amy! πŸ™‚

  3. Chipper says:

    Ooooh! I have that paper and I haven’t been able to find a way to use it (I think it is the gold/yellow undertones), but here is seems perfect. I think I shall have to dig out the collection pack … if I can find it amongst all the packing boxes! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

