Christmas Love

It’s pretty appropriate that I’m posting this layout today, because just after noon today, I will begin reading “The Night Before Christmas” to groups of children celebrating hometown Christmas festivities! I created this layout for Pink Persimmon Stamps, and it is one of only TWO Christmas themed layouts I’ve ever done. πŸ™‚

I took this photo last Christmas time, of my sweet girl peeking through the tree. I love the bokeh created by all the lights, and the vibrancy of color. I do wish I would have fixed my white balance, tho…….so I wouldn’t have that gold cast…but oh well. It does show me how I have improved my photography from last year, eh? πŸ˜‰

d
Honestly, I am not a big fan of the true green and red christmas color combination, and sometimes I get all freaked out when I’m decorating for christmas, because I”m so set on neutrals, and muted colors..that I don’t know what to do with brighter stuff. Since lots of my decorations are gifts or hand-me-downs, it limits me a bit (I can’t go buy a whole set of Christmas decor), but this year I learned to work around it, and I’m happy with how my home looks. SO, I decided to apply this to my layout as well.
layers and bling, Christmas, ALLassiter
I used a light, frosty green, and a light frosty blue, to give a little different look to the traditional color scheme. I love blue for Christmas…I would have an all shades of blue tree, if I could.

left top corner, allassiter, christmas
I really like the movement of the bling on the page, as well as the layers of punched edges (I’ve been really into border punches lately…they add a lot, especially texture).

Thanks SOOOOOOOOOO much for joining me today,and hopefully I infused you just a bit with Christmas spirit!! To see some beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeautiful projects from the Pink Persimmon team, in a wonderful *free* e-book (Including one of mine!), click here. The ideas for handmade gifts are awesome.

HolidayIdeaBook_Promotion
~Be back verrrrrrrrry soon, with a post you all have been waiting for!

7 Comments on “Christmas Love”

  1. This is absolutly stunning Amy! And your little girl looks dazling with all those twinkling lights about her.
    Kate

  2. Ava G says:

    this layout is very eye catching and interesting to look at, the photo is spectatular and the background paper really blends well with the embellishments

  3. Scraps says:

    Gorgeous layout, Amy–you always manage to include so many details without things looking cluttered πŸ™‚

    I’m in total agreement with you on the red/green decor–we do blue and silver and then I used the flat wooden figures from the craft store of monkeys, added blue scarves, and drilled holes for hooks to complete our monkey tree.

  4. Scarlett says:

    Oooo, this is the LO you posted a sneak of, yes??! I lurve it so much!!! The photo is super and you know what – I don’t mind the white balance being off I think it captures the moment just dandy! Totally agree with you on the love of border punches great way to get an extra oomph without spending cash!! πŸ˜‰ This is just so gorgeous – could spend lots of time soaking it all in – really like the santa stamp. Off to get the Ebook – Hooray for free!! Hope your day was good one!

  5. Amy Baldwin says:

    This layout is crazy beautiful! WOW! Words cannot express how magical this is! I love all the layering, texture and colors. LOVE IT!

  6. kate vickers says:

    STUNNING, Amy! There’s so much detail to this, I don’t know what item to say I like the most! The way you clustered your embellishments is awesome! πŸ™‚ Thanks for linking it up at Paper Issues. Merry Christmas!

  7. Chipper says:

    That is such a sweet photo πŸ™‚ We have the same decorations on our tree every year that we have collected over the past 15 years. They don’t match but I love them. I have a friend who changes the colour scheme of her tree every year. She used cheap baubles and keeps the colours she buys to come up with new combos. This year her tree was turquoise, black and silver. It looked quite good. Her son has asked for more traditional colours next year but she is already planning future years as she bought hot pink baubles in the sales last week!


Leave a Reply

