My Lovely Friend

I have a few great friends that I almost never get to see. My friend Marisa….she’s one of my closest friends, but I honestly haven’t seen her since 1997 !( And guess what, she’s gonna get a layout too.) Well, my amazing friend Christina doesn’t live that far away, really. But since we both work, and have families, etc….we don’t see each other much….well, pretty much never.Β  I was lucky enough to see her at the Art and Soul Festival (that she organized with her friend Christy). I kind of surprised her. She really wasn’t thinking I would make it. When we got to see each other…we were so excited. She’s just the sweetest. She hugged and kissed me, and my girls. It was so great to spend the day with her, being absolutely silly. Of course, I insisted on taking gobs of pictures too. Most of them are absolutely hilarious. They too will be scrapped. πŸ™‚

I started with a Girls Paperie kit, and dug out all kinds of the letter and postage themes…since we are long distance friends. I painted these letters with gesso, then sprayed them with Tattered Angels in Pink Taffy. I used a great stamp from Pink Persimmon’s Style Girl Line, for the word “friend” that I then stamped and embossed with Clearsnap mixed media inx embossing powder, on each of the letters of the word “friend”.

I was amazed by all the postage stuff I have hanging around in my stash. It was super fun to also use this Pink Persimmon stamp, it is from the newΒ  stamps (check them out at the end of the post, and click the image to go to the site). I can see using these stamps in all kinds of ways, on all kind of projects. Obviously I dig the postage stuff, though.

Oh these hearts by Heidi Swapp. They made me swoon. Then I sprayed them with Color Shine…….and I nearly passed out. They picked up the color in chevrons….and the rest wiped off. So pretty. I got those at Paper Issues.

I’m so happy to have this sweet picture of my friend and I (taken by my baby girl). I’m also excited for her, as she will be opening her own store in charming downtown Atchison, called Vintage Gypsy. And guess what???? I will have my own booth/store!! Yay!!! I’m so so excited. πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for visiting today, and have a lovely weekend! I’m off to create some more (whoop), and I’ll have some fun projects up for Helmar and Pink Persimmon next week.

Blessings to you!

A

5 Comments on “My Lovely Friend”

  1. Dara Lynn says:

    My BFF and I live 90 miles apart. Even though we talk on the phone almost daily….it’s such a treat to see her in person. Due to all the same reasons, family, kids, job commitments, we really cherish time together! Beautiful layout of your friend!!! I know when she sees it, she will feel the love!

  2. Vicky Alberto says:

    Wow that was one of the NICEST comments I’ve ever read on my blog about my work. Thanks you so much for taking the time to drop by and leave some love on my Christmas layout. I just ADORE the artistic feel of all your work and the amazing creativity with color (I tend to stick to 3 colors per project, LOL). Vicky xxx

  3. WOW!!!! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your layout!! Collaging a lot of different elements and making it look so fabulous is a great skill that I struggle with. Nicely designed! Hope you are having a great weekend!

  4. phinner says:

    Friends make the world go ’round!!!

    HI AMY! I see you’ve been busy!

    Thanks for visiting my blog!!! Its always nice to hear from you! : .)

  5. Chipper says:

    I know that feeling all too well. My best friends live a very long way from me, but when we do see each other it is like we have never been apart. It took me a long time to find friends like that and I treasure each of them. Even if we don’t get to speak often as our work schedules are opposite and time zones make that difficult, if we are ever in need I know that each of them would do all they could. Nothing compares to a friend like that πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

