Caribbean Blue For Me and You

This last few weeks have been so crazy for me. It makes me sad, that this is the first time I’ve been able to write here on the gnome! I’m getting used to a full time job, and the girls being in school….well, all of the things that are more time consuming than I ever expected.  I decided that I would take a few hours after work today, to schedule some posts. I don’t like doing it that way, because I prefer to write from my heart at the moment, but, you have to do what you have to do, eh?

This layout went up on the Zutter blog a week ago.  This is one of my recent favorites. The colors alone just make me feel calm and soothed. It’s like a crafty vacation on a page! I have added a video below that shows the process I used for creating the corrugated board background. Just as a heads up….um, I look like a pile of poo in the video. I had cried off my makeup after getting a card in the mail, and lets just face it, I am continuously was tired and looking that way. Haha.

I wish I would also have caught a little video of how I made the cheesecloth waves. I used some inspiration from the fabulous Jennifer Priest (her waves were paper, though), and did layers of mist and shaped the cheesecloth, with Helmar decoupage glue and Krystal Kote.

I am really really addicted to the dew drops from The Robin’s Nest….and those starfish are from there, too. I think they are so delicate and beautiful.

Thanks SO MUCH for popping by the Gnome today! I hope to have some fun posts coming up in the next few days! 🙂

~Blessings, A

 

5 Comments on “Caribbean Blue For Me and You”

  1. ava says:

    lovely layout. I too use cheescloth on my layouts, sometimes i can’t get enough of it. Your background is perfect and embellishments really give the layout a fun flavour.
    ava

  2. Chipper says:

    I LOVE cheesecloth!!!! So fun to work with. I have been scheduling posts too 😦 Never seem to have the time to do all that I want! I love all the blues in your layout (well, it is my fav colour after all!). Those close up photos are amazing. Such clarity in the shots.
    Until next time, Chipper

  3. Scraps says:

    That color is so vibrant! I love how it makes the black and white photo really pop!

  4. Aunt Phyllis says:

    Amy, this is just beautiful, my favorite so far! Keep up the great work!

  5. Cassie says:

    Gorgeous!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing it at Paper Issues!!! ❤


Leave a Reply

