Capturing My Geeky Imagination

This week, I had a fun layout that I created, post on the Gauche Alchemy blog. I received the Monstrous Mutant Robots from Outer Space kit a few weeks ago, and fell in geeky love with it immediately. I love the quirky little embellishments, like foam robots, and smiling aliens, and also the sweet papers, with cute birds and parachuting little robots. It’s a balance of geeky and hip…..sorta like me, only I’m waaaaaay more geek than hip.

I  did so many fun things with this layout, that my kiddos just adored looking at.  I thought it would be cute to make the foam robots into a banner. hehe.

I found these Pink Paislee wooden letters when I was in the Archivers in the Mall of America, while visiting family in Minnesota this last month. I thought they would be a blast to layer up on this page, especially on this little green plastic robot. You can tell that I also used a healthy amount of Gauche Alchemy washi tape, as well. I bought SO much of it, because it was such an amazing price, and they have become my “go to’s” lately.

I first added layers of light aqua and sapphire blue paints, and then misted with a bright, lemon yellow for a big contrast. After those layers dried, I fussy cut these sweet little robots, and added a strip of the astronaut birdie papers, and then layering the cut out comics too, blending the edges lightly with the remaining paint.

And…ta da! you have fun page that shows what goes through my head when I’m framing up a photo. Well, not exactly, but my imagination does go wild!

Thanks so much for visiting today, and come back on Sunday, when I have a share of one of my recent favorite projects, a shabby chic mini album! There will even be an aged background technique tutorial video.

Have a lovely weekend, and many blessings to you!
~A

5 Comments on “Capturing My Geeky Imagination”

  1. Dara lynn says:

    Absolutely whimsical page!!!! I love it! Never have seen anything papers like this…what paper line is it??

  2. Buttons says:

    Parachuting robots!!! Just the best ever! So un-grunge – it’s brilliant to break the mould. Thanks for sharing, hugs Buttons x

  3. Chipper says:

    Wow! This is originality at its best. The astronaut birdies made me giggle. Thanks for swinging by this week, it was a nice surprise. My computer is dieing so no blogging for me at the moment. Hoping to get another one this week 🙂

  4. jsquared says:

    Love those parachuting robots. And I have some of that tape with faces. I bought it in Paperchase – didn’t realise it was Guache Academy……but it was cheap.

  5. Nicole says:

    What a fun page! I love fun things like robots but sometimes it’s hard working them into a page. Thank you for the inspiration!


Leave a Reply

