Mother Of Three

I’m so excited that my first post as a Helmar Hottie has gone up today! It’s such a thrill so far,  to be a part of this friendly, fun, supportive team.

For the layout I am sharing today, I used some of my favorite new Helmar discoveries:  Craft and Hobby PVA glue, Helmar 450, and Zap Dots.  (I couldn’t just use one, I love them all so much!)

I found these small scanned photos of my grandmother, and her three girls, taken in 1947; and thought that I couldn’t think of a better way to use the gorgeous, feminine (to me at least) color palette that Helmar’s fabulous Lydell found and created for our challenge, than by using these photos. I mean, you can’t get any girlier than that, unless you had maybe 10 girls. Hehe.   As the mother of three girls herself, I’m always comforted by the fact that my grandmother successfully raised her daughters (my mom is the littlest girl, on the left), and that she is hopefully whispering encouragement in my ear from above.

As you can see, I placed the photo of my mom, aunts, and grandmother together, on top of 4 Helmar Zap Dots. Best, stickiest, dimensional foam ever.

For all of the one-dimensional elements on this page, I used the Helmar Craft and Hobby PVA Glue. When I “wormed it” (my phrase for winding streams of glue) onto the back of the paper, I then spread it very thin using a Pampered Chef stoneware scraper. A old credit card could do the same job. I love how it then adhered perfectly and smoothly to the base paper, even with gesso and paint and such on it.

For the very first time EVER, I was able to adhere one of these vintage plastic doilies to my layout, and then photograph it so closely…..because there weren’t any glue strings! Helmar 450 did the trick!  It spread so nice and thin, but was still re-positionable, AND you can’t see the adhesive on the doily itself, or the paper. Perfecto!

The Helmar 450 Quick Dry was perfect for sticking this heavy clothespin to the fabric sticker, as well. There’s nothing better than security in knowing the clothespin won’t eventually be laying at the bottom of an album.

I hope that you will stop by the Helmar blog today and leave me and the other girls some love. I know you would be astounded at the diverse, amazing projects that have been posted,

See you soon, and sparkle on, Gnomies. 🙂

3 Comments on “Mother Of Three”

  1. Chipper says:

    I love all the colours and the layers. I have managed to keep up with reading your blog and am really looking forward to when I have a few minutes spare to watch your last videos. The past few weeks here have been eventful and today is my first semi-normal day!!! Congrats on this DT work and I shall have to head over to Helmar blog now 🙂

  2. misty says:

    Love this! So many beautiful details and such a great photo! I struggle with gluing my punchinella and its sounds like I know how to fix that now!

  3. First of all CONGRATULATIONS on the Helmar team! I am such a bad scrappy friend! I’m sorry I missed the announcement I KNOW you posted- that is a huge gig!! Second HOLY MOLY this page is GORGEOUS!!! The color, the layering- the DOILIES! This is GORGEOUS! Sorry for all the yelling 🙂 Great post!!


Leave a Reply

