Put Wings On Your Dream

I noticed that my post as a guest designer for Donna Salazar Designs went live last night, so I’m excited to also share this project here with you! I’ve been waiting in anticipation of the time when I finally got to show it to the world!

For this layout, I used a photo of my sweet Ivy, that was taken late this fall, while she was sitting on the dock of a lake, enjoying the sun.  I was very inspired by the “dreamlike” elements in Donna’s “Spring In Bloom” papers, and I used that inspiration as the focus of the layout, which I titled “Put Wings On Your Dream.”

I started with a 12×12 piece of corrugated cardboard that I distressed, and then spiffed up with a blend of smooch, paint, and then sprinkled with Fairy Dust Glitter.

I thought it would be fun to add layered strips of denim, along with alternating strips of the lovely papers.

I obviously did quite a bit of fussy cutting of the butterflies and roses in the papers for this layout.  I wanted to give a sense of the butterflies actually flying, to represent the wonderful dreams Ivy has. The butterflies are elevated using differing sizes of foam squares.

The Mixed Media Inx and Smooch work perfectly with the beautiful die cut “Shadow Flowers” by Spellbinders.

The pocket in the left corner, is from a pair of Ivy’s jeans (so it is extra special to me), and I jazzed it up with some fabulous Nestabling, and a little strip of  corrugated board I had left over, wrapped with baker’s twine. I tucked a pleated bit of The Crafty Chronicle in the corner of the pocket, to add another layer.

I made the “Dream” title by using a stencil on the Artistic Papers, and stamping on each letter with corrugated boardand Mixed Media Inx, and I am very happy with the result. I like how the letters pop off of the brightly colored corrugated board layered underneath.

I can’t wait to head to my studio

3 Comments on “Put Wings On Your Dream”

  1. lousyananut says:

    just amazing girl! love every detail from the corrugated board down to the pleated paper under the jean pocket! i love it..the end 😉 can’t wait to see your other project!

  2. Wonderful Amy! Love all those cool layers. Really “makes” the layout.

    Smiles~
    Marilyn

  3. misty says:

    OMG! this is so cool! I love the pocket! totally awesome!


Leave a Reply

