Shadows and Light

 

Lately, I have been working on more than one project at a time. This helps keep my creativity fresh, and I keep from getting bored. Not that crafting is ever boring for me, but I don’t want it to feel like work. So, this layout has had bits and pieces added here and there over about 4 days. I was kind of uncomfortable with not completing it in one sitting, but actually, I think it helped me to come back with fresh eyes. I even bought the crystal swirls and crocheted flowers, with this layout in mind, while looking around at Hobby Lobby the other day.

This gorgeous Bo Bunny paper made things pretty easy. I bought several of the papers (they didn’t have the whole collection) at my LSS, and the set of diecuts, too. The paper has so many fantastic layers to it alone, that I knew I wanted to keep most of the additional layers up and away from the interesting things on the page.

The butterflies that came with the diecuts just fit seamlessly, when I added some foam squares for dimension.

I spent most of my time working around this distressed frame I created using a crafter’s workshop stencil (chicken wire), and modeling paste applied fairly lightly. This was a delicate stencil, so it was difficult to get the detail, but after spraying it liberally with mists in yellow, aqua, and pink, it filled in the squares and defined it a bit.  A touch of Mix’d Media Inx in truffle defined it even more. I tucked a square of burlap behind, and then laid down the photo. The photo is framed in washi tape I recently got from Gauche Alchemy (if you love washi tape like I do, you DO NOT want to miss out on the great deal at GA. The tape truly is the cheapest you’ll find it anywhere, with free shipping domestic, or $2.50 international, okay, end ad). 😉

This photo and title say it all. I love this photo, despite it being taken at one of the truly darkest times for my daughter, and really all of us. She wasn’t open to having her photo taken (posing that is), so I shot this candid photo right by the river that runs behind our home. I love that I forever have captured the necklaces she wore all of the time then…a guitar pick, and a Celtic cross. This whole photo, it tells a story. Of someone living in momentary darkness, but the light of hope was just behind her, waiting for her to step into it.

Blessings~
A

4 Comments on “Shadows and Light”

  1. Gorgeous

    Smiles~
    Marilyn

  2. jsquared says:

    I find that it is sometimes helps to walk away and then come back with fresh eyes. Love your page – I think I would have been quite lost with that background paper

  3. Chipper says:

    Beautiful as always! And such a lovely story. I am so glad that she found the light to step into. That background paper is georgous!!!! But I don’t think I could work on that many layouts at once – I think 2 is my limit 🙂

  4. Your layout really moved me, Amy. I am so happy that she has moved from the shadows to the light. I will continue to keep all of you in my prayers! I think your page is beautiful, heartfelt, and very moving! TFS!


Leave a Reply

