Kept Forever

This photo is another of my “outtake” photos from our family photo shoot back in November. So….these photos may become a “theme” for a while. I really, love this one, because it is a completely candid moment. My camera was on the tripod, and when I saw everyone laughing over something goofy, I just pressed the shutter. I’m so darn glad I did, because now I have one of the moments that happen in our family, that are so perfect….captured forever. Where everyone “just gets” our own goofy family humor, where we’re laughing and having so much fun.

I really love this layout. It has peacock colors, and I have a bit of a thing for peacocks, after seeing an exhibit in the art gallery that featured them. So, the peacock blue stuck in my mind. I also tried something a little different this time, and I selected each and every element of this layout before I even put anything together. Every string, every little bit. I kinda liked doing it this way, though it isn’t as spontaneous as it usually is for me.

The bottom paper is a “vellum” type piece I made myself, using the paper from a Washington Irving vintage book, and typing journaling on it, and then covering it in melted beeswax. I *loved* working with the beeswax. It smelled divine, and was so smooth and lovely. I like how it gave it a transparent and very delicate look…..and the beautiful Tim Holtz paper underneath could shine through underneath.

These tiny shiny birds, as well as the feathers, chipboard accents and more, came from my Gauche Alchemy blue mixed media kit. Even the little blue “paint blob”. The swirls are Tim Holtz grungeboard swirls, painted in shades of blue, cream, and white.

My 17 year old pointed out to me how many shades of these Webster’s Pages “bloomers” I have. In fact, I was looking at knock offs in different sizes and patterns at my “big box” craft store the other day, and she just rolled her eyes at me. Hehe.

One of my very favorite elements on the page is this shipping tag, which I created with a Jenni Bowlin stencil and modeling paste. After the paste dried, I added mists in turquoise, walnut, and light blue. The texture is wonderful, and I liked how it is set off by putting it with the plastic doily (stained with distress stain).

Well, happy weekend, Gnomies, and if you get a chance, grab a look at my new page above, that features my mini albums. I was struggling to find a way to show them in my gallery, so I decided to give them their own nook. 😉

Oh……..and I hope to be back tomorrow with a new video tutorial!! Whoop!
Blessings~
A

4 Comments on “Kept Forever”

  1. misty says:

    Such an awesome photo! loving the layers of goodies and the twine around the title is fantastic!

  2. phinner says:

    just popping in to say HI! I finally have a few moments to go check out my favorite blogs!!!!

    I can smell the beeswax here! it evokes good memories! I ditto what you said in your post!
    there’s so much to see here! I don’t know how you can get so much on a page and make it look so good!

    and lastly, your family is gorgeous!!! such a lovely photo!

    happy day Amy! : .)

  3. Chipper says:

    Well I certainly wouldn’t call that photo an out-take 🙂 looks to me more like a real life family moment captured in film. Glad you got the shot. Love the layers and colours … And beeswax!!! Who would have thought???? Looking forward to the video 🙂

  4. artgirl4040 says:

    You struck such a cord with my heart. I saw this page and my heart said what an absolutely gorgeous page, it is so beautiful. The layers and the textures spoke to me so strongly. Thank you so much for sharing, I am really enjoying your blog, you are so very gifted!!


Leave a Reply

