A Butterflylicious Layout, {and my first video tutorial!}

Oh goodness, it seems like forever since I’ve posted. Honestly, I have 3 drafts that I never finished. Oi….it is time for my life to slow down significantly. Once the holidays finished I thought that would happen, but then on the 10th we celebrated my sweet daughter’s 12th birthday, too…..so of course there’s so much involved with that! I’m breathing a sigh of relief that all of the events went well (but are over, I love my routine of “normal” life), and I’m thinking that my creative “pow” needs to be kicked back into full force.

Today I am SO excited to share with you…… my first video tutorial! I bought a cute and very functional Flip video camera the other day, and it has made it super simple to create video tutorials in my studio. My first tutorial is a super fun technique (maybe you even do this), but something I thought would be great to share in my first attempt; custom dying seam binding. On the layout above, you can see the seam binding. This layout was created for the latest challenge at Scrapping The Music. The video is *clearly* my first try, it’s cut all weird, and it was 10:30 pm after a long day of birthday partying with 12 and 13 year olds, so I don’t look fantastic (excuses, excuses); AND I am a complete dork (but I would be like that even after a long day, hah) but….it is my best effort at this time. 😉

I added the glitter to the brown thickers, by covering them in adhesive (Tombow), and sprinkling on Donna Salazar’s fairy dust glitter, and Martha Stewart glitter in copper. I then used my heat gun to help it melt a bit into the adhesive.

The black ribbon corner frame on the top left photo was made from the string off of one of my daughter’s hoodies. Upcycled, sistahs! The butterfly is fussy cut from the fabric. I ❤ these butterflies.

The butterfly fabric is a BIG favorite of mine, so I added it as I would a patterned paper. I added the seam binding that I made in the video…and colored the flower with the leftover mist/ink/water mixture. The same was done with the die cut flourish….that gives them all a cohesiveness that I like. As messy as my style is, I really do like the appeal of “matchy matchy.”

The edges of my layout are painted with black liquitex paint, and a mixture of Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist in Patina and iridescent white paint.

The photos on this layout are of my grandpa and I picking dandelions when I was 18 months old, in 1976. I scanned and edited the originals (they were very light, faded, and funny colored) , and converted them to black and white. The details showed up so much better when in black and white.

5 Comments on “A Butterflylicious Layout, {and my first video tutorial!}”

  1. misty says:

    Beautiful layout, and great job on your first tutorial!!!! It was fun seeing you in action!

  2. Dara Lynn says:

    Your layout turned out beautiful!!!!!!!! You did a great job on your first tutorial! It was nice to see a face …rather than just hands the entire time!

  3. Awesome details, Amy, and GORGEOUS! And precious photos of you…what a treasure. You’re first video! Awesome. Will have to check back later…I limited my computer time this a.m. while Emma is in school for 45 mins! You are so creative! I’m with you on a little “normal” life…just want to slow down…my own fault too I guess 😉 I want to accomplish things, and well, there’s not much downtime…which I love…Have a great week!

  4. Sharon says:

    I absolutely LOVE your creative and gorgeous page, Amy! The photo of you is such a wonderful thing to have and you scrapped it beautifully, my friend! I love your take on this week’s song! I am so happy to have you on our design team!!!!!!!

  5. Love this layout my friend!!! And that tutorial is great! You did an awesome job for it being your first one! I love your hair!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

