Kicking off an exciting new year with Creative Scrappers!!

Happy New Year to all of my amazing readers! I hope that you are having a beautiful start to 2012!! 2011 held all kinds of bumps in the road for me, but that journey has only made me stronger! I welcome 2012 with a full and hopeful heart.

Today, I am so excited and honored to be a guest designer over at Creative Scrappers!!! It’s so awesome to be the first guest designer of the new year. 🙂
I know you will LOVE the sketch that Juliana has created, and that I used as my creative spring board. You absolutely MUST go check it out ASAP!!   Here is my take on the sketch:

I used a bunch of goodies from Donna Salazar’s Antiquities collection for this layout, and the colors were such a wonderful palette. I love the vintage quality, that still has pops of color, like in the roses on the left of the frame I created for Ivy’s photo.  The flowers are created using vintage book pages, and Spellbinders dies. The doily is plastic, and cut in half. I painted it with gesso, a smidge of beige distress paint, and added a *bunch* of Donna’s Fairy Dust Glitter. I  looooooove that stuff. Love, love, love, love it. My daughters love it, too. It is just the right texture, and it comes in a fabulous shaker that looks like a sugar/salt shaker. 🙂 I love it so much, that this morning, I looked on the floor of my bathroom, and it sparkled with fairy dust glitter. Ahem, yes, I used a lot of glitter.

I really love using pieces of measuring tape as embellishments, and it worked perfectly this time with the measuring tape paper elements in the collection. I took this piece, and distressed/inked the edges, and rubbed on some inkagold in rose.

I planned to just add a strip of paper, as one of the layers (as shown in the sketch). But, honestly, I had both of my daughters sitting right by me in my scrap room, and I needed to give them something to do, so that I could think for a minute. So…..I handed them scraps of paper, and told them to roll them up at approximately the same length (I’d seen this done as a recent trend on several blogs), and make enough to be about 6 inches long. They did a good job, and it worked nicely to add a bit of dimension. I tied a bit of seam binding on, that had been dyed using Smooch Spritz  in Evergreen(a fabulous mist…love it), and lightened it up by adding water. I thought it made a nice contrast.

I hope that maybe I have inspired you this New Year, and that you will head over to Creative Scrappers to grab this sketch, and get to scrapping!  I thank Kristine so much for having me as a guest!

Happy New Year, Gnomies!!
~Amy

5 Comments on “Kicking off an exciting new year with Creative Scrappers!!”

  1. Chipper says:

    Happy New Year to you!!!! Love your take on that sketch. The rolled up bits of paper were a good idea. Don’t you love it when something like that works. LOL Can be difficult to think when other sets of eyes are watching.

    Looking forward to seeing what you get up to this year. All the best.
    Chipper

  2. I hope you have a happy, healthy, and better 2012…sounds like you have gone through your fair share…I know what that is like…I love what you did with this sketch…loving all of the texture you created with the paper, and all of the layers…amazing…Happy, healthy 2012!

  3. FI says:

    Lovely job on the sketch, love all the dimensional and texture you created. Congrats on the Guest Design position.

  4. jc.chris says:

    Wow, you totally amaze me with your talents!! Love everything bout the layout especially all the wonderful textures!! Congrats on making to the final 8 🙂

  5. Sharon says:

    Yay, Amy! Your page is fabulous! congrats on the guest design spot!


Leave a Reply

