Happy Trees in Girlie Pots

Happy New Year’s Eve, friends! I hope everyone is having a lovely day, enjoying relaxing {or partying}with family and friends. I’m excited to have an evening out, celebrating with my husband, and friends we haven’t seen in a really long time! I know several of my friends in Europe and Asia, are already enjoying 2012. I can’t wait to see what 2012 holds!

I’m just popping in quickly, to share my altered flower pot with you all. I LOVE my baby fir tree, and I thought it needed an appropriately girlie pot, to match my kitchen! 🙂  I created this one night in the middle of December. My girls were in bed, my husband was at a Christmas party for work………and I was blessedly alone, creating to jazzy Christmas tunes. 🙂
I used a blend of 3/4 mod podge, and 1/4 gesso, to collage the papers (from Donna Salazar’s Antiquities collection…they are nice and heavy, and perfect for mod podging). I painted the remainder of the pot with gesso, and waited for it to dry.

After the entire thing had dried (and I had eaten several mint m&m’s, and danced goofily to some Harry Connick, Jr. song) I added the strips of measuring tape paper to the edges of the pot, as well as seam binding, dyed with Smooch Spritz diluted in water.  The metal plate is by Tim Holtz, and has been painted with Jenni Bowlin paint in Chewing Gum, (and sprinkled with Fairy Dust glitter). 🙂  The butterfly was stamped on some chipboard heavy body paint, with multiple layers of ink in brown, and spruce green. I folded her in half, and perched her on the edge of the pot with hot glue. A ruffle of denim, and a handmade flower (with the Antiquities papers, old book papers, and canvas fabric layered up) add a bit of girly flair. My tree is now SO happy to be in this pot. It told me. 😀

Obviously, this pot only works for indoor plants, and my tree is still potted in a plastic pot, and just placed inside. I did make 2 of these pots,  for mother’s day gifts, filled with herbs. My mother in law kept hers outside…….and it is still completely  in tact, so I think I will try this with a few of my outdoor pots this spring!!

Well………enjoy your New Year’s Eve, friends! I’ll be back tomorrow with an exciting post as a guest designer at Creative Scrappers!!

~ A Blessed 2012 to you!!!!!!!!

4 Comments on “Happy Trees in Girlie Pots”

  1. phinner says:

    so stinkin’ cute!!! and I love that you upcycled your bleu jeans!!!

    Happy New Year, Amy!

    : .)

  2. WOW!!! So cool and love the layers to this. Happy New Year to you Amy and your family!

  3. misty says:

    These are gorgeous! Great work Amy!

  4. myriamMG says:

    hello ! I’ve just discovered your blog thanks to Creative Scrappers (I am part of the DT). Your work is fantastic !


Leave a Reply

