Punky Christmas Sparkle

Sigh. Oh, that corrugated board……it has buried itself in my creative heart. I literally laid awake at night, trying to think of something to use that would be similar, but alas, I have come to the conclusion that there isn’t anything else. 🙂

I made another layout for this month’s Punky Scraps challenge, before this one. It will be below. I liked it, especially the photo, but it just didn’t have the “oomph” I wanted. So…I went back to the glorious boxes in my basement…….and tore them up….again!

Though the photo makes it look as though I used the same paint as in the layout I did featuring Haley’s picture..I didn’t. I tried a combination of a darker green paint and gesso, combined with a silver mist, and then added some red mist. This was all added on top of some paper and fabric, that had been mod podged on the bare cardboard, after that, it was all embellishments.

While at Michael’s, I saw that they had floral “picks” of sparkly greenery for only .25 a piece….so I snatched those babies up. They have been kind of picked apart (no pun intended), and added in a more natural formation…at least that’s how it feels to me.  I really adore how they gleam on this layout. In fact, I had a hard time picking up their extreme sparkle in the photo…even outdoors. Darn. 🙂

This layout…see, it just doesn’t have the “shazam” of my other layout….but I like it. 🙂 I used a plastic doily that I cut up…and the part on the left corner of the photo, is painted black. I think it’s neat how the paint absorbs into that old plastic…and actually gives it a more fabric like look.  The worst part? When I added embossing powder to the alphas (that had already been adhered), and then heated it, it sorta goobed up/melted the doily circle on the top right. oooooops.

The thing I love best (besides the sweet girl in the photo there) about this layout, is the background, even if it ISN’T on corrugated board. I color copied some vintage Christmas music, and mod podged it to some chipboard, then painted over it with Gesso. On top of that, is a layer of black paint (on the left)….and then stenciled on the top, with ink, are the “holly leaves” (I actually have no idea if they are intended to be holly leaves…I just decided they would work.) To make the holly berries, I just dripped random bits of red glimmer mist. I thought the effect was kinda rad.

So…….I hope I gave you a *bit* of inspirado! Please head over to the Punky Scraps blog today, and check out the other awesome layouts the Design Team (both A&B combined) have created! There is a really cool, very punky sketch to inspire you too! You deserve some “me time” in your scrap room this holiday season!! ❤

Blessings!~

A

3 Comments on “Punky Christmas Sparkle”

  1. Sara says:

    This is so beautiful, the photo is absolutely adorable!! I like the colors, the textures… Everything!! 😀 Good job!

  2. Sharon says:

    Such amazing pages, Amy!!!! I love them both! The photos really shine on your beautifully designed layouts!

  3. Kim Sonksen says:

    Oh wowee!!!! I am loving those layouts – they are both so gorgeous and full of textures. Stunning stuff!


Leave a Reply

