Getting Carded {sorry, I couldn’t help myself}

I have had a bit of a loss of mojo in the last few days. Hopefully this is temporary. But, last Friday, I made a few cards in the morning while I was doing some laundry. I love how cards don’t take as much time as a layout (for me, that is), and how the clean up is also less of a hassle.  Last week, I spent the whole beginning of the week toiling over a couple of layouts, and I think I used up most of my creative energy in their creation and the subsequent massive cleanup that was required.

I started out just grabbing some plain pre-folded cards, and decided that I really dug this bird stamp from Graphic 45. My daughter Haley had picked it out a few weeks ago….it came in a collection of bird stamps, one of which is a swallow….my favorite.  I thought this particular stamp reminded me of fall, and since we are wrapping up this glorious season, and moving toward Christmas (and journaling that wonderful season),  it was time to get to work.  I simply used a Tim Holtz embossing folder, and lightly used the new seasonal distress inks over the top of the embossing. I love that fleur de lis ribbon, and thought it made a nice splash of color. The paper flowers are from Creative Memories, and I just cut the petals off of a green flower, to make the leaves. 🙂

In contrast, I loved this sweet little typewriter from the Lost and Found collection by My Mind’s Eye. I just used a 6×6 paper, and cut it to layer the “brackets”. The ribbon and sparkly buttons make me smile, and add a bit of punch, I think.

This last card (I used my iphone for these, excuse the meh quality) was a super quick creation. I used a Jenni Bowlin stencil, and the distress ink in (iced something or other, heh) and spruce, and gently faded it to the bottom of the card. I like the impression it gives. That darn bird was hard to stamp (again, I am a terrible stamper), and it left weird impressions each time I stamped it, which was about a total of ten times.  I do think the light impression here lends it a vintage quality.

Well, this is the most stressful day of the month (it comes around each month, unfortunately), so I will be off to run kids to hither and yon…….and return back to work this evening. I hope everyone is doing fantastic, and is ready for the fabulous upcoming turkey day!

~Sparkle on, Gnomies!

One Comment on “Getting Carded {sorry, I couldn’t help myself}”

  1. phinner says:

    oooh, I love the embossed card! maybe your mojo just went on a little hiatus for the upcoming holiday???

    would you mind telling me which system you have for using the embossing plates? sizzix? cuttlebug??? other??? merci beaucoup!!! : .)


Leave a Reply

