Bright, happy, and somewhat clean and simple

Don’tcha love my title?  I think is indicative of my newest layout.  I am NOT a clean and simple scrapbooker. I know some clean and simple scrapbookers who do amazing work…….work I wish I could do, and feel good about. Unfortunately, I’ve learned that it just isn’t ME to leave something alone. I keep adding layer upon layer. Except with this page.

I really, really love this Studio Calico vintage style bird paper. So much so, that I knew I didn’t want to cover it up much at all. I have this recent thing with loving birds, or things with wings….it’s a bit of an obsession.  So, I found 3 other lovely patterned papers, did a touch of distressing, layeredthem up, and laid down this photo. When I looked at the Emma’s Shoppe frames, I knew they wouldn’t fit OVER the photo, but I thought it might be cool to frame up Haley’s face alone, and leave the rest of the sky in the photo as another layer.

The gathered ribbon is a strip of “fab rips” by Studio Calico. I love how it was sticky on the back, so it required very little work to achieve the folds. I did stitch it down, however, with my machine.

The rest of the embellishments are from the Emma’s Shoppe cardstock stickers page, except for the little kite……..which is a KI puffy.

After adding my alphas, I popped on a “spot” of journaling, and some paint dribbles…..and the page was done, in about 15 minutes total.  I just didn’t see the need to add anything else! Whew.

I had a busy, fun, and festive Halloween, and I hope you did too, dear reader! After the dark colors of my recent Halloween projects, it was kind of fun to return to the bright happy colors again for a while…..but for some reason those darker vintage colors and styles always call to me…..so my next post will have a stark contrast in color. Check back tomorrow for a look!
Thanks for visiting, Gnomies……and Happy All Saints Day!!

~ Blessings

Amy

One Comment on “Bright, happy, and somewhat clean and simple”

  1. kat says:

    love this! i love how colorful it is! 🙂


Leave a Reply

