A Haunted House Book

I have been very slowly working toward completing this album, which I call the haunted house album, for several weeks now. I started with the cardboard, paint, and mist at a crafting day with friends at the beginning of the month, and gradually pieced it together, bit by bit.  I would call it a mini album, but it isn’t all that mini…..it’s about 6″x10″. It has a solid back panel, and it is bound on both the left and right sides, to open like the doors on the haunted house. I looked for quite a while to find the handle for the front, and eventually found an old cabinet pull in my garage that had been tossed in a junk drawer. It worked just perfectly!

   I embellished the left cover with some really yummy Jenni Bowlin vintage style Halloween papers. I adore those pumpkins and the moon card.    The banner is made from stickers by Echo Park, their Apothecary line. I primarily used the Echo Park, along with  Jenni Bowlin and Authentique’s Glowing collection throughout the album. They all seemed to flow well together. The Key Hole is Tim Holtz, and it is the only one I had left, I had used the rest in the package. I guess it was just waiting for this! I also used Tim Holtz Hobgoblin tissue tape.

This is the left side of the album, with just a few of the cute little word stickers, and the “address plate” (Tim Holtz). I made the “cracked glass” using a piece of Authentique paper, with Echo Park stickers on top, distressing just a touch with some ink, and then putting on a *thick* layer of ” cracked glass” medium. It takes a while for this to dry this way, but it is a super cool effect, perfect for a vintage or distressed look.

The album opens up to make a landscape, and I had to keep this in mind while working on it.  The papers were applied with mod podge, and everything else is secured with hot glue; because this album holds photos of our annual family Halloween party at my parent’s home, and I knew lots of people (including small children) would be looking at it, and it needed to be sturdy.   There are 6 pages on each side, that open up to 4 across, and I printed the photos at about 2″ to 3″ tall, to fit many across the page. (My pics of the other pages didn’t come out so well).   The black painted pages were painted with Liquitex paint in Mars Black, and while they were half dry, sprayed with Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist in Pewter. This gave it a nice sheen, and a sort of distressed look as it blended into the paint. The grey pages are painted with a custom mixed grey, and sprayed with Harvest Orange glimmer mist.

At the last minute (an hour or two before I needed to take it to the party for everyone to see), I was adhering the photos and the last few embellishments. I didn’t like feeling so rushed, but I do work well under pressure.

I’m really very pleased with what I came up with here. It was really fun to share the album with my family and friends, and to come up with something a little bit different (and a bit fun and spooky).  I’m actually kind of sad that I am finishing up the last of 2010’s Halloween/Autumn photos and projects; but I am actually a little bit excited to get started on something new…..like the holidays? 🙂

Blessings!
~ Amy

5 Comments on “A Haunted House Book”

  1. misty says:

    absolutely beautiful! So creative!

  2. This is stunning Amy!!! I’m in love!! I have to make a mini album now! I’m seriously inspired by this creation!

  3. I love it! Wish we celebrated it more here.

  4. love how this came out, amy…saw it on my blog list and had to come see! makes me want to get crafty!


Leave a Reply

