Halloween is almost here, so it is time for a spooooky sketch!

I’m pretty sure that I can’t possibly convey how much I loved creating this Halloween themed layout. There’s not a thing on this extremely cluttered layout that I dislike, which doesn’t happen very often with me. I love the kraft paper. I love the thick, haphazard paint, I love the punch of orange in the prima flower, and the imperfection of the flower made of an old piece of paper and tissue tape. I just love this layout. I also love the fabulous memory of my Haley’s excellent acting as I photographed her in this black cape…a la little red riding hood. We laughed, we goofed around……..but she always maintained a level of “character” that was so perfect.It was 65 days before Halloween…..at the beginning of August. And I loved it. ( and I know I am probably annoying some of you with the “tooting of my own horn” here…hehe).

This leaf frame was the basis of the layout. It is a Balzer Designs frame, and I used it on brown heavy canvas fabric, by layering on linen distress paint, and once that dried..black ink.Ā  The mat for the photo is an old book page that my fabulous friend Emily sent me.

I thought that the book page worked perfectly for this recklessly folded flower. šŸ˜‰ I love all of the neutrals in this layout, but thought it needed a bit of color added, so the big lovely flower in orange, and the thread framing the layout in turquoise adds a little splash.

The Graphic 45 steampunk style stamp of the bird with the glasses…….is one of my favorite things of all time. Definitely a favorite stamp…..sigh. I love him. He makes me so happy.

All of this came together using a REALLY fun sketch by the fabulous Marie Johansson at Punky Scraps. The spider? SO freaking cute.

Please come join us at Punky Scraps in creating something awesome with this sketch………..it was wildly inspiring to me, and I bet it will spark some super hero creativity in you as well! šŸ™‚

5 Comments on “Halloween is almost here, so it is time for a spooooky sketch!”

  1. misty says:

    I love this too! So cool and such a great take on the sketch!

  2. Kat says:

    so fun! i love all the fabulous elements!

  3. Oh my! I ADORE this! I love the punches of colour and the stamps and the photos and all of it really but I especially love that leaf frame – awesome!

  4. mindingmomma says:

    i really like the simplicity of the sketch and how clean it looks.

  5. Yummy Amy!!! Gorgeous as always! I’m so glad that you have found use for the book pages. I have some more vintage goodies I can’t wait to get in the mail to you!!!


Leave a Reply

