Birds and Bees

Yesterday, I decided that I would use some of the scraps left over from my favorite papers to “whip together” a few cards. I am definitely a novice at card making.  It is usually much easier for me to craft around a photo; but I have some stamps I have rarely, if ever, used…and I thought that card making would be the perfect way to test them out.

For this “bee” card, I used a piece of the Jenni Bowlin bingo card I had cut up for my “Lady of the Lake” layout, and selected a yellow strip of Basic Grey paper that was just cast off. The paper gave me the inspirado to use this bee stamp, which I just adore.  The background was created using a stencil by Julie Fei-Fan Balzer of Balzer Designs, for Crafter’s Workshop. I had recently participated in a class that Julie taught, “Stencil 101”, and was so amazed by the creative ways that stencils can be used. I used the 6×6 punchinella stencil, and black ink….rubbing in circles (as Julie taught us)…to create the “honeycomb” look. I really didn’t intend to use distress ink on the center of the card, but…..I accidentally got some ink smeared on there, and decided to camouflage it.    The flower sticker is American Crafts, that I found in a really cool book of stickers in the clearance bin at my LSS; and the seam binding was custom made by Clare at Bearedo Paperie.   The best part about creating cards? They come together quickly. I like that a lot. 🙂

When glancing at my stamp shelf the other day, I saw these bird stamps side by side, and noticed something cool. In the first stamp, the birds are locked in the cage, in the second, the bird is standing outside the cage looking in, and in the third, the cage is empty. It’s a neat symbolism….and this card is meant for someone very special. I can’t wait to send it to her. 🙂   I didn’t think it needed much else, so I just did a light bit of mist, and added these pretty Girl’s Paperie and House of Three embellishments.

I had so much fun creating these, that I can’t wait to start on a few more tomorrow morning! Speaking of tomorrow…….the awesome sketch challenge will go up on Punky Scraps……and this sketch is cute as a button!  So stop by the gnome here, to see my take on the sketch, and to give it a whirl yourself.

Happy Thursday…we’re almost there, friends. ❤

4 Comments on “Birds and Bees”

  1. misty says:

    These are awesome! I am horrible with cards. I’ve made one that I wasn’t totally ashamed of the rest were pathetic! I just take forever to figure out designs!

  2. maxell says:

    Ooooh. These cards are really rockin’. Love that you focused on stamps that have a meaning in the whole. Love to read about it too.

    And gosh. That stencil. So nice! Wonder if it’s possible to get a hold on one. Probably not here in northern Europe. 😦 Anyway. Circle movements are best for these things so go with that and adjust if you need.

    Yes, I think you should continue with cards. You can do it!

  3. I LOVE finding beautiful things in the dollar aisle of my LSS! That’s one of the best feelings-the other is finishing a beautiful project like these 2 cards here. These are fabulous! The color combos alone make them stand out but I love what you did with the stencil- I have that honeycomb one as well. Thanks for swinging by my blog- the ultimate compliment is to make a reader burst out laughing in the most inappropriate (or quiet) place possible. 🙂

  4. These are both so gorgeous Amy!!! I’m in love!!


Leave a Reply

