The Paper Telescope

Hello gnomies……….I am finally back! I promise to not make a habit of disappearing…but life just got in the way yet again, unfortunately! 🙂

Today marks the first day that my work will be featured on Punky Scraps, and I am super excited!  Crazily, I did *3* layouts for this challenge, because I didn’t really love the first two. I looked at the first layout after I completed it, and was absolutely certain that there was no way I wanted to share it with the public. That layout had LOTS of raw alcohol ink drips, black paint blobs, some random stamped images, decopaged paper, and 3 pretty good photos. When I stood back and observed it, I saw something that looked like a deranged person invaded Tim Holtz’s studio, and went crazy with his supplies.  Maaaaaybe not what I wanted to put out there for everyone to see……..but I will chalk it up to being very therapeutic to create (and something that will not appear in any sort of album, pretty much ever. 😉
Anyhoo…I got to work on this more conservative layout…and was excited to feature this funny and sweet photo of my little girl.

Natalie’s challenge to Punky Scraps design team B, was to create a layout based on a collage (and her collage idea was really rad).  I haven’t created a collage since I was in high school, so I think that’s where I got stuck a little bit. I decided to tear strips of paper and fabric randomly, and then sewed them on the page horizontally, and over the top of the photo . It’s not overly “collaged,” but, it gives that idea.

I decided to make the focus of the embellishment cluster that super cute vintage milk cap (lemon lime milk? So cute…), to go with the quirkiness of the photo. While at my parent’s house for her birthday party, she had made a telescope out of a piece of paper. It was so sweet, and she was looking out the window with it. I put the lens of my camera on the end, and shot down the tube of the telescope. I loved the look…and the bright, light moment around her.

Please come and play along with us at Punky Scraps this week…this is a SUPER fun challenge, the ladies of the design team created some fabulous and inspirational work………AND you can possibly win an awesome prize (you can’t resist, can you) just for creating your own collaged layout! (and I bet yours won’t look like a deranged person made it.) 😉 If you do create a layout for our challenge, please link it up here, so that I can share!

OH…….and I’m excited to share that I was spotlighted on the Jenni Bowlin Studio Inspiration site! Yay!!! (I am just a wee bit obsessed with the JBS stuff….so that’s thrilling to me!)

AND…………I’ll be having the computer pick a winner in the Scrapping The Music blog hop post comments here TOMORROW……so make sure to give me your thoughts, and you’ll be in the running for a custom created album!

Have a beautiful day, Gnomies, and I”ll be back soon!! ❤

 

 

 

6 Comments on “The Paper Telescope”

  1. I love your collage inspired layout!!! This rocks!!!

  2. misty says:

    I love your take! That photo is so fun and I love your title letters and sewed strips! I think I’m going to give the collage a try myself! Love it…

  3. jsquared says:

    You’ve got me wondering about that never to be seen LO now. I bet it’s way better than you think it is. Go on, give us a peak.

  4. Beautiful LO, Amy! Congrats again on being on the team! Hope all is going well at home and with your daughter…been thinking about you.

  5. Kat says:

    Love this!! The colors are beautiful…the layout is fab!

  6. Hi Amy! This is Michelle from PK- do I have your email addy? I just wanted to send you a quick update for next week’s challenge-here’s mine hernandm1(at)yahoo dot com. Thanks! GREAT page by the way!


Leave a Reply

