Just Like A Star {It’s a fun birthday blog hop!}

The very mellow and moody “Just Like A Star” by Corinne Bailey Rae is the inspirational song we are using to celebrate Scrapping The Music’s 4th birthday! The STM design team ladies have all created some really beautiful pieces to inspire you, and I am excited to share my contribution.  Check out the Scrapping The Music blog, to see the list of blogs we are hopping to and from. 🙂

I love, love, love these photos of my daughter  Haley. She was so awesome and adventurous this summer, and indulged me in a really fun and unusual photo shoot. She put on a *really * old formal dress of mine (my crazy idea), and we clothes pinned about 6″ of the fabric in the back. I shot these pictures at a campsite at Perry State Park. She was so cool to get on this picnic table. The bokeh that the trees created was so lovely, and the sun was filtering through the trees….it really was a perfect spot to take photos.

I made my first attempt at creating rolled fabric flowers. I used a favorite Amy Butler fabric, and a pretty pink ribbon. I created the base for the flowers using circles of cardstock I cut out in three different sizes, and then covered the entire thing with perma tac adhesive from Glue Arts. This way, I didn’t need to hurry when wrapping the fabric, like I would have if I had used hot glue (my first thought).  I began by sewing the strip to the circle with my machine, and then wrapped, securing every so often with my tiny attacher.

I wanted to create stars to go with the title, and I couldn’t find anything in my stash that worked, so I made these goofy stars by making my own stencil, and painting it with Jenni Bowlin chewing gum paint, that I added a bit of purple to, to match the flowers in this lovely paper. I liked the “sewn” element at the right top of the paper, so I decided to echo that with my sewing machine, and add a few sewn elements.

My awesome friend Emily  sent me the gorgeous antique book pages, and that fabulous doily, that was distressed, misted, and painted.  I just love what those elements add.

I am so happy to be celebrating Scrapping The Music’s  birthday today, and hope you’ll join us, and create a fabulous project around this lovely song!
And NEXT….Please hop on over to SHARON’s beautiful blog!

OH, and by leaving a comment, you will be entered to win a custom made album by MOI! I will create a custom album for you, in an 8×8….with a canvas cover, and wire binding. I promise you’ll LOVE it! So please leave a comment, and put your name in my hat!!! 😀

16 Comments on “Just Like A Star {It’s a fun birthday blog hop!}”

  1. Sharon (Fritchey) says:

    Amy! I am loving your creative and very amazing page! That photo is beautiful! The stars are such a cool touch! Yay for STM’s 4th Anniversary!!!!!!!

  2. darlene mason-taylor says:

    Beautiful as usual !! Love!

  3. Christa says:

    So Pretty.

  4. Gabrielle says:

    Gorgeous work! What a great idea for your photo shoot! I love the soft blues and purples on your page!

  5. Your pages is truly amazing! I think I just found myself a new scrapidol. So glad to be on the PS team with you!

  6. Ladipo says:

    That looks so good! I wish I could put things like that together, but for some reason my brain just won’t gear to scrapbooking!!

  7. JennyG says:

    What an amazing layout! I am a new follower and am excited to be inspired by your work! Happy anniversary STM!

  8. This is amazing Amy! Your daughter is a stunner and you have certainly made her a star by making such a fabulous layout. I wish I win cos getting an album from would be really awesome.

  9. Paula Sykes says:

    This page is stunning! Your blog inspires me so much and I can’t wait to have a go at the fabric flowers. Thanks for your lovely email I will be reply tomorrow but you don’t have to miss me….I am still here x

  10. Christine N says:

    What a great layout!! I like the colours and your style. I’d love to be able to do layouts like that, but mine don’t look that great if I use lots of colour.

  11. What a beautiful and artistic page!

  12. flutterbyes(kelly) says:

    Congrats on 4 years! Thank you for this chance at some awesome goodies! Your blog is very inspiring!

  13. misty says:

    She is gorgeous, and this layout it nothing short of amazing!

  14. Nicole says:

    Just visiting from STM but I will definitely become a regular because of your amazing creativity!

  15. Swathi says:

    lovely work…. visiting from STM


Leave a Reply

