Enjoy The Silence

***NOTE, the Scrapping The Music Challenge has gone on a 2 week hiatus. Many apologies for posting ahead of the knowledge of this! Return to the Scrapping The Music blog in 2 weeks to participate in this challenge. Sorry again for leading you to a dead end. *****

Over at Scrapping The Music this week, we’re challenging you with a song by the fabulous Depeche Mode, “Enjoy The Silence.” Because I have been a big Depeche Mode fan since they were big in high school…. I have listened to this song many, many, many times. πŸ™‚ In fact, my husband and I refer to time alone, in the quiet, relaxing, as “Depeche Mode time.” As in: “I’ll take the girls to the store with me after work, and you can have a little Depeche Mode time.” Hehe.

When I was thinking about how I would use this song to create a layout, I thought about how much I enjoy the silence of many, many things. I adore going outdoors in the winter as twilight falls, when snow is falling. It is such a beautiful thing to hear the world blanketed in silence, like the snow is the earth’s acoustical tile. It makes me feel very calm and secure, for some reason. I also love the silence of butterfly wings, gently caressing the air. And every day, when my family leaves for work and school, I turn off the morning news shows, and enjoy the silence in the house.

Starting this layout meant I would need a photo of myself….if I was going to make this layout about my love of silence, right? Well. I didn’t have a photo of myself, but I did have one on my iPhone that I took while I was doing Shimelle’s “Explore” class. She said we needed a self portrait, and thisΒ  is one of them. The only thing I don’t like about this picture (except for the fact that it’s a self portrait, and well….I don’t love those) is the fact that when I used the Hipstamatic app, the “film” I had used creates a cool “old photo” look around the edges of the picture. In this case, because my mouth isn’t fully in the frame…..it looks a bit like I have a beard and moustache (which I promise in reality that I do *not*. In fact, I am a bit crazy about any stray hair). That’s oh so beautiful and sexy. Anyway, this photo is simply converted to black and white, and printed on regular copy paper. NOT ideal. And…in 40 years when my family is perusing through my albums, it will probably be all melted into the page with acids. But….will it be viewable enough for the perusers to see my “beard?” THAT is the question.

I used the embellishments, and several papers from my August Jenni Bowlin kit (lots of Basic Gray goodies and vintageness), as well as butterflies and moths I fussy cut from a piece of Tim Holtz kraft resist paper (sigh, I so love that stuff), and pumped up with foam squares, for this little cluster.

The main thing I find a bit awkward in this layout (other than the beard), is my title. I had gone off and left most of my American Crafts Thickers and other alphas at home, and I only had alphas from my Pink Ninja kits, that were a lovely aqua and pink…….but that wouldn’t work with these colors.Β  Soo, I used some new alphabet stamps I bought at Michaels the other day for the “enjoy the”, and painted the “Silence” in black and gray acrylics. It works…..but it isn’t what I really wanted to do. πŸ™‚ The postcard is so beautiful, and from the Jenni Bowlin kit, and the stamp is also JBS studio, stamped in distress ink (and not stamped well……see what I mean about my stamping skillzzz? )

So, aside from the photo looking like I have a smashing beard, and having to hand paint my title……..I dig the stuff on this layout.

Well, happy Friday friends, and have a beautiful Labor Day on Monday!! πŸ™‚

Love and Blessings…A

5 Comments on “Enjoy The Silence”

  1. Daphne says:

    Oh my – Amy! I just realized you are on the DT of STM! Congrats! Depeche Mode was one of my favourite music groups as well! ‘Enjoy the silence’ was/is great! I shall have a go at STM this time! Thanks for the “reminder” xxx Daphne

  2. phinner says:

    isn’t it crazy what we can come up with when we don’t have what we think we need?! you did a fantastic job not having access to your entire stash!!!

    and seriously, if you hadn’t said anything, I’d never have know you didn’t intend for your stamped bf image to be distressed looking. its very artistic after all…like a happy accident! your technique is fine!!!

    I hope all is well in your neck of the woods. I’m guessing you were affected by the storms? we’re finally having a bit of summer in Cali, sheesh!!!

    happy weekend!!! Amy!!! please keep visiting me at my blog, okay???

    : .)

  3. Chipper says:

    Thanks for what you said on my blog πŸ™‚ Appreciate it. I am really enjoying your style of scrapping. Enjoy your long weekend.

  4. jsquared says:

    You’re to hard on yourself. It’s a great LO.

  5. Patricia says:

    Amy, I think the piece came together exactly as it should! Beautiful work and I hope all is well.


Leave a Reply

