Brains Are Beautiful

**The photos of this layout have been removed, as they are out for publication at Scrapbook News and Review. They will be back in place at the end of October. Thank you for visiting this post, and for your understanding.**

This is one of those layouts that started as a beautiful idea in my mind…….and evolved a great deal. I created 3 tags, and I was *thrilled* that I actually stamped images that didn’t look like a toddler had done them. I think I need help with stamping techniques…I am not a natural stamper.:)

I had printed these 3 pictures I did of my sweet, brilliant Brynne reading on a summer evening. I planned to put each photo on a tag, but when it came to designing the page, it just didn’t look right. So, I changed things up a bit. Actually, I am very pleased with how the design turned out.

I started by using a cool idea/technique that Shimelle used in her last video. She combined paint and glimmer mist, and it looked fantastic. I combined paint in “Chewing Gum” from a Jenni Bowlin paint dabber, and some pink glimmer mist. I really like the result.

 

I had seen some lovely flowers that looked as if they were made of tulle, by Maya Road, and I decided to try and  make one of my own. I  cut about 8 layers of tulle that had come in one of Pink Ninja kits, and also 2 layers of a dryer sheet, to plump it up a bit. I then laid down a Prima flower, and cut the layers around it. Before stapling the middle with my tiny attacher, I twisted and turned the layers a bit to ruffle them, and cut the edges to make them less even. In the middle, I cut two small pieces of pink checkered ribbon, and frayed the edges a bit, put them in a criss cross, and stapled them, as well. I also found a bit of blue flowered fabric, frayed that as well, and attached. I saved a bit of that fabric to pull up through the holes in the button I then hot glued to the center. It was a bit of work for the flower, but I like the look. so it was worth it. 🙂

 

My husband had shown me how a newspaper is laid out (he is a former newspaper editor), how the eye naturally wanders, in a backwards Z. I think the design of this page follows that a bit…but it is just how things felt natural as I was adding them. I tried to keep the majority of my layers in the left corner, because I had seen a lovely design on a favorite scrapbooker’s page, where she had done just that. I liked how it kept just a bit of white space that way.

And of course, as I wrapped up the page, and decided on a title, and “Brains are Beautiful” just worked. My Brynne is SOOOOOOOOO stinking smart, and I thought this would be a fitting tribute to her beautiful intellect (as well as physical appearance, of course!) I truly believe with all of my heart, that being smart is one of the most beautiful attributes someone can have. ❤

I am SO excited for Shimelle’s online crop tomorrow. I missed my fun crop time with friends a week or so ago, and this will be an excellent time to do just that…..crop with friends!! I hope that you’ll join in cropping too (if you are a scrapbooker, of course), and if you do..let me know, so we cheer each other on. 😀

Sparkle on, Gnomies! ~ A

2 Comments on “Brains Are Beautiful”

  1. darlene mason-taylor says:

    Brains are beautiful !! Your work is beautiful !! You are inspiring…xox

  2. Love the pink paint and those flowers! Great page! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving me some love. xoxox


Leave a Reply

