Metamorpha…..? {and an accidental attempt at using a peanut butter cookie as an art tool}

I’m back with my most recent layout. The title of this post probably lead you to believe that it was about something from “The Terminator”, hehe. When I saw that funny face of Ivy’s in the photo (one of my recent favorites), I knew I needed to create a homage to her funny faces. Ivy has so many funny faces, that Haley has dedicated a whole Facebook photo album to her goofy faces. I just say “Ivy, make a funny face” and she comes up with something original. 😉

I really LOVED making the butterflies for this page.  I do wish I would have used chipboard/cardboard I prepped with gesso or something……because my paper really warped after the inking, but you live and learn, eh? In Dina Wakely’s video (see the previous post for the link), she used a paste to create her butterflies using a Jenni Bowlin stencil. The JB stencils are sold out, so I made do with another stencil I had……which I think is quite nice ( threw away the packaging, or I would let you know what brand it was).   The top and bottom butterflies were filled in using Ranger Distress paint, extra thick, in “linen”.  The middle black butterfly is simply acrylic paint, stippled on.  ***as an aside, at one point, I grabbed a sponge to use to apply the paint, and instead grabbed a peanut butter cookie. It was funny, yes. A bit sad, too. I am becoming the crazy lady doing art in her basement, trying to use a cookie as a tool. ***

As the paint was drying (I’m so impatient, it takes me 2 minutes to think the paint should be dry already, and I bust out my embossing heat dryer) I added a little bit of Martha Stewart glitter in copper. After the butterflies had dried (using the dryer), I sprayed them with harvest orange Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist, and a mist I made using alcohol ink in a bright teal. This did NOT have the same effect on the distress paint, as it did on the paste Dina used. Bummer. But, it still looked cool. 😉

To add more movement to the butterfly, I added a stitched swirl. NOT as easy as it looks. Sketching it out…..helps. Figuring out how to rotate a 12×12 piece of paper in an antique sewing machine? Not so easy.

Really, this page didn’t need much more, but I thought this gorgeous paper deserved a place on a butterfly themed layout, so I cut a strip and pleated it in my crooked, arching pleats. I used a section of the paper with more vibrant colors, to add a bit of pop to the otherwise neutral (but glittery) page.  I dug into my stash and found a felt flower, a prima red flower for a dash of super color, and a neutral brown……topped with an aqua button. A strip of corrugated board (love it….obvs, I use it on everything now), and a Tim Holtz butterfly finished off that piece of the layout.

yes,  I probably should have stopped there…..but that excessive thing??????

I thought the picture of Ivy needed a little dressing up……and I couldn’t do anything with the bottom of the picture, without it looking like she was eating the embellies. So, on the side I used tissue tape, and a pretty velvet/shiny ribbon in brown. I tacked that on with my tiny attacher. The butterflies   punched with my Creative Memories butterfly punch, using My Mind’s Eye paper scraps.
The stickers for the title(I know, metamorphaface is weird. I’m weird….the title is an extension of my thoughts, however bizarre they may be) are random stickers from my stash. The orange are from a Halloween collection, and the black are Creative Memories.
All in all, this layout makes me happy. Yes…..it’s a bit cluttered, and the paper is wavy. But those butterflies are full of sparkle and shine…..they pop off of the page, and that picture of my baby girl? Sigh……so stinking sweet. I miss her while she’s at grandma’s. I can’t wait to see her tomorrow.
~Happy Friday from the Gnomiest. —A

2 Comments on “Metamorpha…..? {and an accidental attempt at using a peanut butter cookie as an art tool}”

  1. Julie says:

    Whadaya mean you should have stopped there? You always know when to stop. Lovely, grungy but definitely NOT a mess – (even if your craft room is when you’ve finished!)

  2. Sharon says:

    Amy, this layout is spectacular! I love all of your gorgeous details, especially the butterflies! And I laughed when I read your post, I get VERY impatient waiting for paint, etc, to dry, too, and get out my embossing too! LOL!!!!!


Leave a Reply

