10 Things

This last week, I finally settled down with my Creating Keepsakes magazine, and I saw a cute idea for “10 things about me”. I decided I have done too many pages about myself lately, so I made a “ten things about Brynne” page.

I really wanted to make a fun little pleated border, but I kept wanting something a little different, so I pleated it at different angles,  inked the edges, and then sewed it down using my sewing machine. I wanted special buttons to match the cute polka dotted paper, so I made them by coloring the centers with Sharpie pens, and the covering/filling it in with “cracked glass” medium.

I used my sewing machine a great deal while working on this project, to give it quilt like feel (though there is really nothing quilted about this). I thought all of the patterns in the paper seemed like they would be fresh and fabulous on a spring or summer quilt. I even sewed down the pretty thick American Crafts letters (yes, I used these again……….I cannot tell you how much I love the font, size, and color of these alphas.

A few weeks ago, my Mom was totally awesome, and bought me a Big Shot. She wanted to get me the Tim Holtz Vagabond, but I just couldn’t justify spending that much money on a die cutting and embossing machine. Anyway, since she bought me the Big Shot, I have used the embossing folders (Tim Holtz texture fades) on almost every page.  The music folder was perfect for brynne, so I added it on top of the “book print” papers for a interesting look. I added ink on top of the embossing to add emphasis.

The final task in creating this page, was figuring out how to get the “ten things” on the page. 🙂  I decided to cut strips of paper in kraft color, and layer them a bit. I am super happy with this layout. I love how I will always be able to look back and see some fun, quirky, and sweet things about my girl at age 11….and read them over and over as a reminder.

I am so excited to be working on some projects for a guest design team spot this month. I have been working away ALL day with some REALLY great products…and I can’t wait to share them with you. But for now? I guess it has to remain a secret!!

Have a fabulous weekend. It is just slipping through my fingers so quickly, but I am feeling so blessed to be relaxing, spending time with my family, and also have the time to work on some great scrappy projects!
~Blessings to everyone.

One Comment on “10 Things”

  1. jsquared says:

    Love the fresh colours and all the stitching. And the colouring on those buttons.


Leave a Reply

