Search no more

When I read the latest post from Scrapping The Music in my Google reader, I was sort of skeptical about the newest song to scrap, which is “Heaven When We’re Home” by “The Wailin’ Jenny’s.” I immediately went to iTunes and listened to the sample……..and was totally hooked. I bought the song right there. I seriously think that iTunes should give the Scrapping The Music gals a kickback on the songs downloaded for their challenges, because I have bought several just because of their fabby site!

The lyrics to this song just touch my heart. I relate to them so much, and I am so glad to have listened to this song……….like 80 million times now. Read them HERE.  I love how music does that…….it just reaches in and hugs your heart at just the right time.

This page will “rest” in my “Seasons of Love” album, and isn’t exactly a 12×12, it is more like a 9×11, and is the same size as the covers. The “page” is made with corrugated board, painted with white and light blue acrylic, and touches of distress paint. The strips on the side of the photo of me (taken with the Hipstamatic App on my iPhone), is embossed with Tim Holtz Texture Fades, and inked with distress ink. I punched the varying circles from some really awesome My Mind’s Eye papers, and kind of kept that theme throughout the layout.

My favorite lyrics from this song, are coiled inside this circle……..and placed on top of some of that My Mind’s Eye paper (that’s been really distressed).

This little cluster of embellies required a great deal of thought and arranging (and rearranging) to get to this point. I do enjoy it now….and the moths (from a Tim Holtz sticker collection) make me so happy….they are really lovely.

I am sure most will find the colors in my layout a bit blase, but since this layout was about me (and I don’t do too many about me, though I am trying to….) I decided to make it using my favorite colors, which are muted tones. 🙂

Please visit Scrapping The Music for some really wonderful inspiration using this fabulous song, and come back and visit here at the Gnome tomorrow……for a fun and layery layout. 😉

Blessings to you all! ~

6 Comments on “Search no more”

  1. darlene mason-taylor says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE your pages and inspirations!!

  2. Julie says:

    I am not a great fan of distressed and heavily embellished pages but yours are ALWAYS the exception. I don’t know quite what you do but it is always wonderful. I love this and if anyone else thinks the colours are blase, just ignore them.

  3. What an awesome page. Distressed and antique, but also funky. Very good job! I love what you said about the Scrapping the Music songs. I have done the same thing…downloaded a song after hearing it on STM. Thanks so much for joining us!

  4. phinner says:

    I don’t have enough superlatives for this piece! The colors, the composition, your happy face, I love it all! Awesome work! Thanks for playing along at Scrapping the Music!

  5. phinner says:

    oh p.s. I do that exact same thing trying to place embellishments on a page! rock on Sista!

    : .)

  6. Sharon says:

    I love your page and don’t find the colors “blase” at all – I love them! And everything about your awesome page! Welcome, guest designer!!!!! Can’t wait to see more from you!


Leave a Reply

