Best Friends {and a long weekend is here, yippee!!}

It’s Friday….hooray! And, on top of that, we have a 3 day weekend coming up…..and our family is going camping!! 🙂 My husband has never been before, and neither has his sister (who’s family we are going with), so this should be an adventure. We’re going pretty posh this time, and staying at a nice campground with a pool, and nice amenities; so maybe that will get them hooked? I do know that my camera is going to be making the trip, and I can’t wait to scrapbook the photos.

Speaking of scrapbook layouts, here is a new one I completed yesterday for my sketch design team duties at Simply Scrapping Crafts. I love, love, love this picture of Haley and her best friend Kayla. The two girls have been friends since first grade, and they are 16 now. Makes me tear up thinking about it.

I took this picture of the two girls during my parent’s annual fall party, which is an event we look forward to ALL year long!! I know that this isn’t a very fallish layout, but I loved the “friend” themed papers from Cosmo Cricket’s “Togetherness” line….so cute….and I think they work well for a teenager type layout, too.

As you can see, this whole right side is painted with acrylics. The sketch this week was pretty detailed, and has a swirl that meanders up both corners. So, I pulled out my faithful swirly stamp….and custom mixed some colors to match those in the papers. Ivy was “helping” me with this (mostly by begging me/whining to paint with my paints, which I eventually relented and allowed), and she loved seeing how you can stamp with paint. 🙂  I did later paint on some sparkly Stickles. I mean…everything looks better with sparkles, hmm? Oh oops…one of the letters is sticking up. That may or may not be because they are covering up a hot glue mess accident?

I had planned to make the title from some cute thickers…….but this one from the Togetherness Elements worked so well. Oh, and I had to distress the mat I used. Seriously, I think that my distresser is getting dull from so much use. They say that’s not possible, but I doubt they tested it under “extreme duress” of use. hehe.

Well, what are you going to create this weekend? Maybe just some photos and memories….or some fabulous layouts?  I’d love to hear what your plans for the weekend are!  Love to you. ~A

One Comment on “Best Friends {and a long weekend is here, yippee!!}”

  1. Carrie says:

    this layout is so cheerful…..and the photo you used is lovely : )

    ❤ Carrie


Leave a Reply

