Imagine

Right now, I should be finishing up some stuff for a meeting at work tonight, but I thought blogging about my latest project sounded a bit more appealing. I *did* work on the stuff for about 9 or so hours already (3 or so of which have been at home…like today), so I can take a break……..right? 😉
Anyhoo. My Brynne loves the Beatles….and John Lennon. So I thought that it would be perfect to title this layout “Imagine.”


I love, love, love this picture of my girl. It is just so Brynne. I took this on her birthday, and I wanted to try a light technique using bounce flash (I use a lightscoop on my DSLR for indoor photography, it is cheaper than a speedlight), but it wasn’t illuminating like I wanted, do I had her lay under my bed….and this is what we ended up with. It was super fun…and actually most of the time we were laughing. So this picture is mostly acting. Brynne’s good at that.

I wanted to capture one of the things that Brynne and I have most in common…..our huge, crazy, overactive imaginations. I LOVE my imagination…and I think it is one of my favorite things about myself. When I saw the pegacorns (unicorns with wings are pegacorns, right?), I thought of how Brynne and I love things that involve fantasy. I mean, I was OBSESSED with the movie “The Last Unicorn” when I was a kid. Hehe………I’m geeking myself out here, aren’t I? Brynne also frequently has her head in the clouds, and is rather girlie………so the cloud paper, tulle, and ribbon represent all of that (they came from this rad kit:check it out). I had seen a cool tutorial by Shimelle on how to make a ruffle…..and so I gave it a shot using this pretty pink ribbon. I also attempted to make the shrug/cardigan in the tutorial…….and it was NOT a success. Not because of Shimelle’s instruction (because it is always great), but because my sewing machine decided to get cranky……..and so did I. 🙂 But, I digress.

ONE more thing before I get back to slaving away over my report.  Did you notice that I *finally* used that white space that I have been saying I would use for weeks now? I also only allowed myself 45 minutes to make this layout. Both of those things were difficult; but by limiting myself , I was able to stretch my imagination a little bit, and work within constraints at the same time. I completely need to constrain my imagination at times……or we may end up with Oompa Loompas on a page. Hehe.

Oh and I must end this post with a favorite quote of Brynne’s, from one of her most admired people:

Imagination is more important than knowledge.~ Albert Einstein                     Amen. 😉

2 Comments on “Imagine”

  1. deb famularo says:

    beautiful girl & beautiful layout!!! very pretty!!!!!! xOxO


Leave a Reply

