I finally used the French market paper

I have had a fascination with goldfish since I was a child. (My first pets were pop eyed goldfish….aptly named “Popeye and Olive Oyl.”) So, naturally, when I came across this beautiful goldfish paper during a trip to Au Marche, a French market in Lawrence…I bought it (well, and I bought another sheet about 6 months later, just in case). Actually, I was so afraid of not doing the paper justice with my work, I didn’t use it until I created this layout; which is about 4 years later!!

The inspiration for the theme of this layout came from this photo from the Pink Ninja Addicts. I am pretty sure this was the best crop decoration idea ever…..Ally and Nely are so stinkin’ clever.:

This was my contribution as a sketch design team member over at Simply Scrapping Crafts this month, and I did some switcherooing (is that a word? Hmm.) to come up with something I loved. I started with the punched borders of the goldfish (yep, I have a goldfish punch…I told you I love goldfish), and after punching, I sprayed it with orange Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist. I wasn’t sure that was enough of an element, so I used my Creative Memories wavy tearing tool to make a wave, and my bubble maker to add the goldfish bubbles. I used quite a bit of acrylic paint to make my bowl, and to paint the Zutter corrugated board in the same white, gray, and black tones of the fish.

The reason the first photo of my husband has a bit of glare, is that it is mounted on a card, (so that I could add plenty of journaling without cluttering up the page more than I already had) and the card had swung open a bit. 😉

Each fish is hand cut….I really wanted the grace of their tails to add some floatiness to the sharper elements, and give the appearance that they are swimming across the page. I truly used them more as embellishments than as paper.

I did mess up the lyrics to one of my fave Pink Floyd songs though….I was once again informed by my husband after the fact. Sigh. I guess he needs to be my pre-proof reader. It is difficult to undo an art element. The embossing tape *should* read ” Two LOST souls swimming in a fish bowl”.  double SIGH. I’ll check the lyrics next time on my iphone….I promise. hehe.

I hope you are enjoying your swim in the fishbowl of life today. Have a lovely Sunday. When this posts, I should be napping before a long dress rehearsal! ~ Love to you

Leave a Reply

