3 fun projects {with fabulous Echo Park Papers}

I am so excited to re-share some of my favorite layouts that I have done recently with you all, my wonderful friends. I will have links to the original posts in which these pages appeared, but I thought everyone would enjoy seeing them together, and how the beautiful Echo Park Paper products can be used in different ways! These products came from the “For The Record” collection…….and they are some of the most gorgeous and versatile papers I have ever worked with.  I think they just settled into my heart, and I almost wept when I used up the last one.  Hee hee, I wish I was joking.

This is the first layout I created using this collection, and I was just so thrilled about how that lovely floral paper, and the polka dotted papers looked  together. For some reason, it made me feel like I was sitting in a 1950’s kitchen…playing cards with my grandmother; and that’s such a comforting feeling.  I also loved how the bright pink in the flowers matched Ivy’s shirt in this photo, and really drew focus to it. This is one of my recent favorite photos, and I wanted to showcase it in the best way possible. I used my Creative Memories custom cutting system to cut the two circles on the top and bottom, and my circle maker punch for the small circles framing the photo, and used foam dots to pop them up a bit. I distressed the pretty yellow papers a bit with some Ranger distress paint in linen, and while the paper was wet with paint, I tore it to reveal the brighter cardstock beneath.  I wanted to use the borders in a creative way, and so I created some leading lines by criss crossing them into the photo.  I decided to type up my journaling, because I wanted to fit as much as possible onto the page, and my handwriting is a bit too big for that.  To give a bit of dimension to this layout, I added the small pieces of corrugated board, and painted them with sparkly red Stickles. The pom pom trim was so adorable, and added a bit of whimsey. 🙂

Page Recipe:

Patterned Papers: Echo Park, For the Record-Tablecloth, Lace Stripe, Red/Cream

Cardstock: Bazzill Dotted Swiss Deep Sea

Border Strips: Echo Park, For The Record

Ephemera: K&Company

Mist Spray: Tsukineko

Pom Pom Trim: Bazzill

Epoxy Stickers: DCWV Mariposa

Chalking Ink: Creative Memories

Glitter Glue: Stickles, red

Paint: Ranger/Tim Holtz Distress, Linen

When I started this page, I had a few things in mind. I was working with sketch for my design team duties at Simply Scrapping Crafts, as well as working with the lyrics to “Chances Are” by Five For Fighting, for a Scrapping the Music Challenge (and it ended up winning, which was the icing on the cake). I wanted to make this layout as unique and special as my daughter, so I started with that gorgeous paper and chose the elements as I went. The cardstock was sprayed with lots of glimmer mist in a steel gray, and then I cut the large circle out of the For the Record paper as the base. There was TONS of paint and Mod Podge involved in this layout, too. 🙂  I hand cut the smaller half circles, so that they would lay just right and add focus to the pic of my girl.  The ribbon and little “slice” of denim are pleated and glued with hot glue to keep them solid. I thought I was done when I added the tissue tape (Tim Holtz), but this layout felt like it needed a little something else. So….to echo (hehe, funny pun) the circle theme, I added matching buttons from my stash.

Page Recipe:

Patterned Papers: Echo Park, For The Record-Apron Strings, Green/Green, Imaginisce-Garden Party

Cardstock: Bazzill Grass Cloth French Vanilla; Coredinations, Cream of Wheat

Ribbon: Offray, Unknown

Denim: Scraps from an old pair of jeans 😉

Tissue Tape: Tim Holtz

Photo Corners: Scrapbook Adhesives

Chalking Ink: Creative Memories

Ink: Inkagold, Lava Red

Pen Ink: Sharpie

Paint: Ranger/Tim Holtz Distress, Linen, Peeling Paint

Brads & Buttons: Unknown

Awww, when I started this layout, I had been reading diary entries that had been written by my husband’s great grandmother. When I looked at her picture, I was struck by how her eyes and my baby girl’s were so alike. I thought my baby muffin should know about this amazing gift, and so I got busy working on this page.

I thought since I was bringing together something across generations, that the layout needed a vintage feel.  I love, love, love the pretty doily elements on the page, and I still had fragments of the other Echo Park papers to work with, so I decided to cut out the elements, and layer them behind the photo.  The toughest part of making this page, was the measuring (which I really detest doing, but found crucial in this case) of the strips of paper that create the lines behind the photo. ( Can you tell that I had just read a photography tutorial on “leading lines?”)   Because I wanted to have a little spot for more than a little journaling, I flipped the K&Company envelope on its side, and tucked in a Echo Park tag, from their Noteworthy line. I punched a hole, and tied it with ribbon, so that in the distant future, it might create curiosity as to what is inside.

Page Recipe:
All elements same as above, but also contains:

Ribbon: Martha Stewart

Alpha Stickers: unknown

Rubons: Studio 112, mini alphabet

Ink: Tim Holtz distress

Have you made something using these gorgeous papers? I’d love to see what you created! Have a beautiful Sunday…..<3

Leave a Reply

