Rediscovering my mojo

Wow, I just realized that I haven’t done a blog post in quite a while!! Life has just been so crazy, and I had to put the gnome on the back burner this week. 😦 I am pretty sure that fatigue and stress seriously affected my scrappin’ mojo. BUT, I finally sat down to work on my sketch for Simply Scrapping Crafts this week, and voila……I “just did it!” So, this layout is a little bit of a triumph.

This photo moment was great. We were at the Raven Bookstore in Lawrence, Kansas. Brynne was messing with an Edgar Allen Poe finger puppet, and talking about his books and poems. Right at this moment, she was talking about how his poem “The Raven” was spooky, and was saying how the raven says “nevermore.” I had my camera at the ready, and caught this really funny and cute expression.

Because I wanted this layout to say a couple of things at first glance…..books, and gothic…I knew it would need a vintage feel. I started by digging into my scraps and finding all of the library related papers, papers with writing or text, and then layering them. For the title, I wanted a distinctively “Poe” look, so I chose a gothic font, and then did several things to the paper. I first sprayed it with navy glimmer mist, then added a very thick layer of “clear rock candy” Ranger distress paint. I waited for that to dry, and then used foam dots to pop the title off of a black strip of cardstock. To add some sparkle, I put some mod podge down, and sprinkled some embossing powder…and got to work with my embossing gun. 🙂 I love that thing.

This layout was all about distressing, inking, and “grunging” up everything. I painted, inked, and more. I got my mojo back this way. The hardest thing to do on this page……….was threading the twine through the button holes….THAT was super challenging!!

Wait, did I say the most challenging part of this layout was threading the buttons? Um, wrong. The hardest part was making this tissue tape flower. I had watched a video tutorial by Tim Holtz on how to make these..and he made it look easy. For me…it was NOT so easy. But, it the finished product was somewhat usable……..so it was worth it, I guess. 🙂

Come and join us at Simply Scrapping Crafts, for Sketchy Saturday! Grab this sketch and go…you’ll love working with it! And if you use this sketch, leave me a comment with the link, so that I can see your rockin’ creation!

{See you soon with another project………..I’m headed to the scraptuary in just a few. Happy Saturday!}

Leave a Reply

