This layout was really fun to work on, and I got some inspiration from a couple of places. The guest designers on the Pink Ninja Addicts blog this month (OMG, and they posted some of my layouts this week…I was SOOOOOOO excited, check it out!!!) are soooooooooo inspiring, they knock my socks off with their talent. This layout by Georgia was so awesome, that I just HAD to use some of the ideas and elements, especially the layers and the mini tags. I wanted to outright scraplift it, but I just feel like that is such an uncool thing to do on many levels.

I started with this picture of Haley. Honestly, I was going to hit the delete button when flipping through a photo session, because it was so over exposed. It was a “test shot” that I usually fire off to make manual adjustments to my iso, aperture, etc. My aperture was wide open, and this was a really bright day…so this picture almost looked white. In editing I boosted levels up to where I actually saw her face……and the effect was so awesome because her eyes just jumped out being so surrounded in white. I knew that to take the best advantage of this photo, I would need to use a bit of red, because it really makes her eyes “pop” off of the page.

I loved the layers of straight cut pieces in Georgia’s layout, so I decided do my own twist on that, and I added circles to balance out all of the straight lines. 🙂 The flower I created myself, it was my first venture…and it was actually harder than I thought it would be!! I used a Tim Holtz tutorial, where he made them out of tissue tape…and these were out of paper…which is a bit of a challenge…….but I think I made it work!

I made my journaling with my Dymo label maker….which I think is the grooviest little tool. I finished off the layout by splattering black acrylic paint…which I never had done. Um, I learned it is *absolutely* necessary to add water to flick the paint. hehe.

Well, it is Friday, and tomorrow our family is headed to the zoo!!! Yay!! I am so excited to get out with my camera and my kiddos and husband. We’ll see if I get some more scrapping done before Easter. ❤

Leave a Reply

