My Sunshine

I have 3 (well, 5 if you count my husband and Ewok dog) sunshines in my life, and they make it much more beautiful and sparkly! This week’s layout is dedicated to my 9 year old sunshine, Ivy. She is the focus of several layouts, because in true girl style, she loves to have her photo taken. This series of photos was taken when Ivy was laying in beautiful, thick, soft grass. We had been craving the feel of grass after a long, barren winter.

As hard as I tried, I could *not* get the crop of this layout straight, soooo I just used a zoom out to get everything in. Sadly, I noticed that one of my dragonflies fell off en route to photographing.
I was SO excited to complete this layout using Shimelle’s sketch this week, I was truly worried that I wouldn’t get it completed! After choosing my cardstock, and adhered my photos, this layout made several different transformations, until I arrived at my final result.

I wanted to give my alcohol ink applying skills ( I learned from an online tutorial) a whirl, so I inked the doily and the crocheted flower….and it was REALLY fun!!

I added a fleur-de-lis border to a strip of Zutter corrugated board, and added some pretty die cut buttterflies and dragonflies that I coated with “clear rock candy” distress paint, bending their wings a bit to help a few of them appear to be in flight. 🙂

I used alcohol ink on a clear button to match my doily, and added a flower bud I twirled using a quilling tool. A few bits of beautiful seam binding, made by my friend Clare at Bearydo Paperie (she has beautiful stuff at great prices…please visit her shop…and see her GORGEOUS cards, too) added a softness I thought I needed. 🙂

Here is Shimelle’s awesome sketch I worked from, in case you would like to give it a whirl!

I can’t believe it is Sunday night………I’m going to squeeze out all of the weekend I can! Have a great week, friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

