Upcycling an antique earring for a layout

This week at Simply Scrapping Crafts, our sketch was really fun….something a little different, and it stretched my imagination a little bit.
Here is what I came up with using the fabby sketch:

This picture is a little dark, but it is the best I could get, without losing details.  I loved how the beautiful peacock colored and  textured cardstock looked when painted with Ranger/Tim Holtz distress paint in linen and green.   The flowers are Prima, and the bling is an old clip on earring I found on the floor of my basement. 🙂  I have super cool gaffer tape (Tim Holtz), and a little bit of tissue tape folded over to look like ribbon a bit.  The papers I have been hanging onto for a long time…and I am so happy to have the on the page….finally used and loved on. I have really loved my Dymo machine for the little journaling tags all thrown together…it gives a bit of a vintagey 70’s look. 😉

I stamped the Maya Road letters, and decoupaged the top layer. This really looks snappy when you see it in person. Here it looks a bit muddy, but I like the effect.

I’m pretty darn happy with how it turned out. Lately I have really enjoyed employing different techniques and arty stuff in my layouts…and the end result is something I do really love. So, head on over to Simply Scrapping Crafts today, and try out this Sketchy Saturday goodness. Happy weekend, gnome followers…….see you tomorrow with a fun mini album!!!

Leave a Reply

