A layout about an ancestor’s gift, plus a sketch!

My mother in law recently gave my husband a copy of his great-grandmother’s journal, which made me curious about her. When looking at her picture, I realized it was from her that my youngest daughter, Ivy, got her big beautiful, brown eyes. Recently, I have been fascinated with genealogy, and how our ancestors really give us such a gift; and I thought about how my husband’s great-grandmother passed on to her 3 times great granddaughter, the gift of her beautiful eyes….so I thought I should do a scrapbook page based on this (of course)!  This layout done using the March Lucky Girl Crafts kit, Homemade Happiness.  The Echo Park paper in this kit has been so divine. I wish I had just ONE more piece of the “for the record” paper with the beautiful flourishes on it. I seriously have used every single scrap of this piece of paper.I think that’s when you know you love something….when you must use every solitary inch, hehe.

I decided to use this cute little envelope to create a tag pocket, where I could put a pull out card with journaling.

I thought it would be a fun little surprise for her to pull out the ribbon one day, and see the note inside, telling my daughter all about her lucky gift from her great grandmother.  Maybe it will encourage her to find a photo, or the diary entries that ancestor had written many, many years ago.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Oh, and on a different note, yesterday at Simply Scrapping Crafts, the new sketchy Saturday sketch went up!

You probably remember seeing this layout I created over a week ago: , well it was using this week’s sketch!

My friend Emily Hammann creates the most awesome sketches to work with, and this one was a BLAST to work with! You should also see what the other amazing design team members (including Emily, or DT director) have created using this sketch!

One Comment on “A layout about an ancestor’s gift, plus a sketch!”

  1. ally says:

    ohhh I love this layout amy – love the blacks you added – so pretty!!!!
    {xoxo}


Leave a Reply

